Sign in to follow this  
Spew

Playing Remotely? Try Hangout EotE tools

Hey guys,

Could you expand on how to use the Hangout tool with Roll20?

I am very experienced at running online WFRP3 via FG2 and Maptool, and have tried EotE with Maptool as well. It works, but Maptool is not very user friendly, and I am looking for a better software (until one day hopefully someone do an EotE FG2 ruleset).

So, do you load both Google Hangout and Roll20 in two browser tabs and shift between the two for every roll? Is there a way to get the Hangout toll within Roll20 browser window? Or can Google Hangout be used solely to share maps? I am a noob with Roll20 and Hangout, but eager to understand how you are using those software to run your EotE games.

Thanks in advance

Cheers

Ceodryn

Alright, I am answering my own question. I hadn't realized that Roll20 campaigns could be launched using Google Hangout. 

However, it remains that I am curious how people are using Hangout and/or Roll20 to GM and play EotE. Screenshots would be worth a thousand words!

Cheers

Ceodryn

Yes, basically Roll20 is an app for use in Hangouts as well as being available on it's own website. 

Essentially, you (or your GM) lay out whatever graphics elements you want to use on a series of pages just like you would set up a regular campaign for that Zebras & Zeppelins game that everyone loves so much.  Being an Edge of the Empire Game you wouldn't needed gridded maps or anything necessarily, but in return you could do some really interesting, story enhancing things with Roll20 and EotE.

For instance, creating Epic location scenes within the app to give players a sense of place.  Like maybe a screen cap of your favorite place in SW:TOR used as a backdrop so folks know exactly what the particular section of Tattooine they are in looks like.