Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Oculon

Men of Pride vs The Free Folk

10 posts in this topic

How are 2 conflicting constant abilities resolved?

Eg: If Men of Pride is 'active' and a player also has The Free Folk giving stealth to Wildlings, do non-unique wildlings have stealth?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no true conflict. 

When one effect says "gains X" and another says "loses X", they cancel each other out. It's no different than "gets +1 STR" and "gets -1 STR" on the same character. X + 1 - 1 = X.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Men of Pride
Non-unique characters lose all keywords.

The Free Folk
Wildling characters you control gain stealth.

However, since Men of Pride says "all" keywords, the end result is that your non-unique Wildlings will lose Stealth, even if they had it in the first place.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Khudzlin said:

However, since Men of Pride says "all" keywords, the end result is that your non-unique Wildlings will lose Stealth, even if they had it in the first place.

This is not the same as what ktom said though. If they merely cancelled each other out, it implies any original stealth would stay. Can I check which is actually the case please?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, if there's more than one constant effect on one 'side', what happens?

Eg: Greyscale and Longclaw giving renown to a single non-unique character with Men of Pride active. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The last time this was asked (raised in the same thread by uncle joker which brought us the revised ruling on KotHH vs Burned and Pillaged), the wording "all keywords" or "all stealth" is an absolute, and you cannot regain the keyword no matter how many instances of it you then add. That's what Khudzilin was referring to, although prior to that the accepted ruling was as Ktom stated (that "all" was one instance of each).

However, the wording "each" (which I don't think exists) would be -1 of each, and "loses stealth" would be one instance of the keyword, and would work additively as Ktom described.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note that Khudzlin's comment and -Istaril's explanation of "all" and "each" from over a year ago are incorrect. When a card says that "all keywords" are lost or gained, only a single instance of each keyword is lost or gained, not as many instances as are necessary to make the card function without (lost) or with (gains) the keyword.

 

This is outlined in FAQ 4.21:

(4.21) Losing/Gaining "all" Traits or Keywords

If a card gains or loses "all traits," it gains or loses 1 instance of each trait in the game. If a card gains or loses "all keywords," it gains or loses 1 instance of each keyword in the game.

If a card loses "all instances" of a trait or keyword, it loses that trait or keyword an infinite number of times. A card cannot gain "all instances" of a trait or keyword.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0