Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
crimsonowl

Question for Nekro Virus and found error in FAQ.

3 posts in this topic

Valefar Assimilator

Cost: Gain this Technology by using your racial ability to copy a racial Technology an opponent has researched.  You cannot copy a Technology that modifies his racial ability.

 

Place the race's Control Marker on this card to remember which ability you have copied.

 

Question:  Is it that you may only gain one(1) race's racial ability, due to the fact that you may only gain a research once, and thus this card will only ever get one Control Marker on it.   Or, is it that you may gain this more than once due to the different races available on the board, as such, it could be possible to gain it for each of your opponents, if those abilities weren't negated by the rules listed on this card?

 

 

Also:

 

The FAQ says:

 

Q: Can a player receive another player’s race specific 
technology (for example with the Technological Society 
domain counter)? 
A: No, a player may never gain a race specific technology that 
does not belong to his race.
 
I could argue that the wording in Valefar Assimilator says 'copy'  and 'copied' and as such you're not technically 'receiving' or 'gaining' it.  It just seems out of place not having an exception written into it.  And the FAQ is listed as being up to date with the Shards expansion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Each Valefar Assimilator may copy 1 Racial Tech, and the Nekro have 2 of them, so they  may copy 2 other Racial Techs, but no more than that.

 

-Nehkrimah

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Crimson.Owl said:

Also:

The FAQ says:

Q: Can a player receive another player’s race specific technology (for example with the Technological Society domain counter)? 

A: No, a player may never gain a race specific technology that 
does not belong to his race.
 
I could argue that the wording in Valefar Assimilator says 'copy'  and 'copied' and as such you're not technically 'receiving' or 'gaining' it.  It just seems out of place not having an exception written into it.  And the FAQ is listed as being up to date with the Shards expansion.

You don't gain another race's technology. You gain the Valefar Assimilator technology that copies an opponent's racial tech using your racial ability. There is no technicality about it at all. Hope it helps! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0