Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BsnOne

Fat Goblin - Encounter 2 Question

6 posts in this topic

So what happens if all of the goblin archers are killed before Splig has a chance to interrogate and find Frederick?  The quest guide does not state Splig has the ability to pick up the prisoners and take them back to the torture chamber.  So is this an automatic loss for the OL if all of the goblins are killed?

Just finished playing it (me as the OL) with that exact scenario (was able to interrogate one prisoner before the 3 heroes made it to the hall leading to the prison) and we decided it was OK for Splig to trek down to the torture room, pick up a prisoner as an action, take the prisoner back to the interrogation room, put down the prisoner as an action, and then attempt to interrogate.  It was essentially a moot point as the heroes more or less had the quest wrapped up.  I'll admit I didn't pick Shadow Dragons and opened the first door to unleash my slow-as-sin zombies on them, so poor playing on my part, but still a valid question.

Any thoughts?  Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Splig can also carry a prisoner (as per FAQ), but realistically speaking, turn 1 the Gobbos reach the Prison and are carrying the prisoners and by end of turn 2, have dropped off all the prisoners next to Splig.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the clarification, I should probably print up the FAQ and keep it with the rules.  And thinking back to it, I think I left one goblin archer out for a 3 hero quest in the intial set up, and that's why I couldn't get all four prisoners out.  Man, I really screwed up that quest…lol!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a another question about this encounter. If Sprig has successfully interrogated 3 of the four prisoners but has not found Frederick, does he NEED to interrogate the fourth, as you know it must be Frederick. Can he just pick up that prisoner and hot foot it for the entrance/exit, or does he need to expend an action, and potentially waste a turn interrogating the last prisoner before confirming it is indeed Frederick?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a another question about this encounter. If Sprig has successfully interrogated 3 of the four prisoners but has not found Frederick, does he NEED to interrogate the fourth, as you know it must be Frederick. Can he just pick up that prisoner and hot foot it for the entrance/exit, or does he need to expend an action, and potentially waste a turn interrogating the last prisoner before confirming it is indeed Frederick?

He needs to interrogate the fourth prisoner. Just because the players know the way the quest progresses and that 1 of the prisoners is Fredrick, Splig doesn't necessarily know that. Also, the rules don't say je can move the token he is reasonably sure is Fredrick, it says after he's flipped it and it's the right color.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0