Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
black.balerion

Carrying Objective Tokens - other actions allowed during carrying?

4 posts in this topic

Hello!

As stated in the title I´m interested wheter it is allowed to do other actions during carrying an objective token - especially attacking other creatures with e. g. a two handed weapon or staff? The rulebook doesn´t dive deeper into that topic on page 15…

For me it sounds logical that a character carrying e. g. crops may not use his hands for wielding a two handed weapon. How do you play it?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unless otherwise noted in the Quest, carrying items has no effect other than it requires an action to either "pick up" or "drop" an item. You may continue to kill at will in the game without concerning yourself with such real-world physics. A certain suspension of disbelief is required from time to time - right up there with casting magic and fighting Crypt Dragons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

black.balerion said:

For me it sounds logical that a character carrying e. g. crops may not use his hands for wielding a two handed weapon. How do you play it?

You should try to avoid applying logic to Descent, if you're at all concerned about game balance, anyway.

Carrying items has no limit (IIRC) in 2E.  There's a limit on how many you can equip of certain types, but no limit on how many you can carry.

Objective tokens, specifically, are really reliant on quest-specific rules to detail what can and can't be done with them.  However, if the quest-specific rules do not prohibit attacking or taking other actions, then the general rules still apply.  The general rules say you can equip a two-handed weapon and attack with it, so you're good.

If carrying a bale of hay required the use of either or both hands (thus preventing the hero from equipping weapons), the quest-specific rules would say so.  They don't, FYI.

If you want a logical explanation, perhaps he strapped it to his back.  It does take a full action to pick up and also to put down, IIRC.  It's far better, in my experience, to come up with logical explanations for how the rules actually work than to spend time trying to change the rules based on what's logical.  for one thing, you may find that what the OL considers logical is not what the heroes consider logical.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello Rico & Steve-O,

 

thanks for your answers. Since DESCENT/2ndE & Runewars are my first FFG Games it seems that I have to get accustomed to that kind of "realism" or game logic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0