• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TinyGrimes

The Smuggler's Den's unofficial FAQ

25 posts in this topic

The Smuggler's Den and SoCal Star Wars LCG League Rulings

 

Well with so much debate on various forums regarding a number of interactions and us hosting a league and impending tournament, we've been forced to make a number of rulings without the help of an FAQ. Feel free to disregard these rulings but they seem like a reasonable place for the community to start from before the FAQ shows up. We have not covered these on the podcast because these are not official rules, but interpretations that we are forced to make. As such, of course disregard this list in its entirety as soon as the FAQ drops! And remember these are the interpretations of the cast of The Smuggler's Den and not the opinions of FFG.

 

1. Protect and Shielding (Specifically Jedi Guardian) - A character cannot accept more damage than their damage capacity allows, even if shielded. Thus if a Jedi Guardian has a shield and 3 damage is incoming, only 2 damage may go to the Guardian (less if the unit is damaged). Shields on the Jedi Guardian can be used to absorb damage from other sources.

 

Personally I do not think this is the intent, but the wording seems clear on damage capacity. I think this ruling will actually stand in the FAQ.

 

2. Trench Run - Rebel Assault cannot be used on Trench Run, I received this ruling from FFG. Unopposed damage, Target of Opportunity, and Wookiee Navigator can all be used when targeting Trench Run.

 

I actually think this will not be how the FAQ rules these interactions, I think only unopposed damage will count. However a very active playtester is adamant that these do work so that's how we are ruling them.

 

3. Refresh Phase - The "Any effect with the text "after you refresh" can be used after completing this step" is moved to after step 2 is completed instead of after step 1 is completed. This solves the issue of placing shields with cards like Fleeing the Empire and having them removed in step 2.

 

4. Tie Attack Squadron - If a Twist of Fate is played by the owner of Tie Attack Squadron, a fate card was indeed played and it gains its icon and targeted strike. (Of course targeted strike is a keyword which is defined as attacking only.)

 

5. Secrets of Yavin 4 - Each objective can only be engaged once. Therefore, if Secrets of Yavin 4 is attacked its response cannot be triggered as it has already been engaged. Moreover, Secrets of Yavin 4's interrupt can only be triggered once. If another objective is attacked and Secrets of Yavin 4 triggers its interrupt, the original objective has not yet been engaged (and may be engaged again) since that attempt was interrupted.

 

6. Targeted Strike + Shii-Cho Training - These two abilities are mutually exclusive. You may not spread out damage over multiple targets if using targeted strike.

 

7. Grand Moff Tarkin - The moment Tarkin enters play his passive ability is in effect. Therefore, if an objective has 4 damage on it and its damage capacity was previously 5, the objective immediately blows up.

 

8. Darth Vader's reaction and cancelled events - If an event is played and cancelled, Darth Vader can still trigger his reaction.

 

This is one I'm really hoping FFG changes but the wording seems clear for now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Very nicely done. I will agree on everything, though, on #2 (trench run), I think, without at least a good rewording of some rules, they would rule the same way you guys have in the FAQ.

All in all, I predict your rulings to be in sync with the most likely FAQ rulings…. if they ever publish them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sageleader said:

What's the reasoning for Targeted Strike + Shii-Cho Training not being compatible? I didn't see that discussed in the forums - I probably missed it.

 

There was a large thread on it. Basically the two are mutually exclusive so you have to pick one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, this is brilliant.  I don't see any points where I could possibly disagree, and I have seen some places where rules disagreements could potentially occur.  It's very nice to have something to refer to as solid rules in cases of ambiguity.  I am playing in a very very non-competitive environment. While most things seem to be cut with little obfuscation, it's nice to have a sort of canon to refer to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would add one more thing to the FAQ based on what is possibly the single most common misunderstanding I've seen:

Q: Is the Reaction on Fall of the Jedi (or any other card with a Reaction or Interrupt) mandatory?

A: No.  Using any card's ability (Action, Reaction, or Interrupt) is completely optional unless that ability is preceeded by the word Forced (e.g. Rancor).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

dbmeboy said:

I would add one more thing to the FAQ based on what is possibly the single most common misunderstanding I've seen:

Q: Is the Reaction on Fall of the Jedi (or any other card with a Reaction or Interrupt) mandatory?

A: No.  Using any card's ability (Action, Reaction, or Interrupt) is completely optional unless that ability is preceeded by the word Forced (e.g. Rancor).

 

This FAQ is meant to supplement the rule book. The purpose was not to say, hey read the rule book again. Had I taken that approach I feel the document would have been muddled. However, I do agree that for some reason a large amouint of people, despite reading the rule book, have missed this rule. That is why I discussed it in my podcast.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tiny, I think you give people to much credit in saying "read the rulebook, again".  I have a hard time believing that a number of players have done anything more then cast a cusory glance at the rulebook, if that.  People far to often rely on another person to teach them the game.  No matter how exact that person is things get missed.

I would not be suprised if over half of the FFG FAQ could be summed up by just telling the players to read the card/rulebook for the answer.  But, no, they will have to spell it all out for many people.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FAQ stands for "Frequently Asked Questions", so I don't think it is out of line to include commonly mis-intrepreted rules.  It's your FAQ, so feel free to include whatever you like, but  "Unofficial Rules Interpretations" may be a better title for what it is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sojo2600 said:

FAQ stands for "Frequently Asked Questions", so I don't think it is out of line to include commonly mis-intrepreted rules.  It's your FAQ, so feel free to include whatever you like, but  "Unofficial Rules Interpretations" may be a better title for what it is.

 

That is a good point and why the document is entitled league rulings. This is not meant to be a comprehensive FAQ of any questions regarding the game. Rather, this document is intended to provide  a reasonable starting place for interpreting the grey area rules while we wait for official word from FFG.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TinyGrimes said:

sojo2600 said:

 

FAQ stands for "Frequently Asked Questions", so I don't think it is out of line to include commonly mis-intrepreted rules.  It's your FAQ, so feel free to include whatever you like, but  "Unofficial Rules Interpretations" may be a better title for what it is.

 

 

 

That is a good point and why the document is entitled league rulings. This is not meant to be a comprehensive FAQ of any questions regarding the game. Rather, this document is intended to provide  a reasonable starting place for interpreting the grey area rules while we wait for official word from FFG.

Ah, gotcha.  I was confused by the thread title, but the actual document title is perfectly accurate.  I appreciate you sharing your league's rules.  I also am a big fan of the podcast and am always excited when a new one is released!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The main thing to take away from Shielding is that it prevents one focus or one damage from being placed on the shielded card.  This means that after damage is assigned, one damage/focus can be prevented from being placed on the target shielded card.  A card is not destroyed until the damage tokens on the card meet, or exceed the card's damage capacity.

The Protect trait specifically states that damage beyond a Protecting unit's damage capacity may not be re-assigned to the Protecting unit.  This means that Guardian of Peace can only be assigned 2 damage when using the Protect trait, as she only has a damage capacity of 2 printed on the card.  One of these damage can be prevented if she is shielded, thus she will not die (2 damage was to be assigned, but 1 was prevented before damage was placed due to the shield)  Damage re-assignment is not a one for one assignment, but rather a lump sum.  In the above example, after the 2 damage was assigned, grandma was able to prevent 1 damage before damage was placed, and was still alive. She would not be able to use the Protect trait during the same strike to prevent further damage.  She would be able to use the Protect trait during another strike to re-assign 1 damage to her, as she can only accept 1 damage due to already having 1 damage placed during an earlier strike.

I hope that helps to clear up any questions regarding the confusion regarding point #1

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Vaapad said:

I understand the RAW argument for #1, but I too think it goes against designer intent, and I bet it will come down the other way in the FAQ.

 

The RAW arguement is all you need. The FAQ will prove that RAW and intent are one and the same. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the misunderstanding with reactions in this game and other ffg lcg is the absence of "may". Essentially in ffg games, "Response" equals what in other card games would be may. I.E. Response: Draw a card = you may draw a card. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Went back and re-read the wording in the rulebook.  I guess it is essentially saying what #1 states.

I have another question in that case: lets say 3 damage is about to be dealt to a character, can the guardian take two of that damage, or can the guardian not protect at all?

If the latter is true, then I'd say FFG really needs to re-think the protect trait.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Meant to state that I know the scenario was already dealt with in the first post, but with the way the rulebook reads, can the guardian really even take the two?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rulebook clearly states that a protect unit can only take damage equal to its remaining health.

Here is the scenario:

You attack with Luke Skywalker (0 damage) and a Guardian of the Peace (0 damage). You place the shield counter on Guardian.

You go into combat against Darth Vader with his lightsaber.

Your opponent wins the edge and played a Heat of Battle. Heat of Battle deals 1 damage to luke.

Your opponent focuses Vader to strike and deals 3 damage to Luke. 

You activate Protect and can only bring 2 damage over to the Guardian and you use the shield to prevent 1 damage. The remaining 1 damage is placed on Luke Skywalker. 

At the end of the engagement Luke has 2 damage counters on him, the Guardian has 1, Vader has 2 damage. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But the rulebook isn't clear about how the damage is split.  Do you know for sure that you can put ANY damage on the Guardian?  The way it reads in the rulebook, maybe you can't split the damage up at all and all three have to go on Luke until a card deals 2 or less damage, at which point the guardian can protect.  Also, what about multiple Guardians?  I'd say all of this would be much easier if they hadn't added in that line about only being able to take up to their available damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

shaggscoob said:

But the rulebook isn't clear about how the damage is split.  Do you know for sure that you can put ANY damage on the Guardian?  The way it reads in the rulebook, maybe you can't split the damage up at all and all three have to go on Luke until a card deals 2 or less damage, at which point the guardian can protect.  Also, what about multiple Guardians?  I'd say all of this would be much easier if they hadn't added in that line about only being able to take up to their available damage.

pg 25 (emphasis mine)

"Protect [trait]
A card with the “Protect” keyword may take damage instead of any friendly card in play with the specified trait. In other words, if a friendly card in play with the trait specified by a “Protect” effect would take damage, the controller may instead place any amount of that damage on the card with the “Protect” keyword. (Damage beyond a protecting unit’s remaining damage capacity may not be re-assigned to the protecting unit.)"

Yes, we know for sure that you can choose to redirect any amount of the assigned damage, so the Guardian in the above example can redirect 2 of the 3 incoming damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you had 4 Guardians going into combat with Luke and your opponent did  4 damage to Luke you could have each Guardian take 1 damage each and prevent all of that damage with the shields.

No matter how many guardians you have , you are allowed to activate them to take up to 2 damage, assuming they are at full health. So in some extreme circumstance, you could prevent a lot of damage with the guardians.

The presence of a Shield token will not increase the amount of damage that you can redicret to the guardian.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0