Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
wildchild2

Leoric Of The Book

5 posts in this topic

Hi Descent's players.

I'm a new Overlord and I have a question for this hero.

The Leoric's ability is:

Each monster within 3 spaces of you receives -1Heart on all attack rolls (to a minimum of 1).

…For All Attack rolls versus Leoric, or in general versus all heroes?

If a monster attack other heroes, receive -1 in attack rolls?

Thank you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any attack to any player as long as the Monster is within 3 spaces of Leoric.  Keep in mind also that Line Of Sight is not necessary for this effect to work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rico said:

 

Keep in mind also that Line Of Sight is not necessary for this effect to work.

 

 

I like to pretend that this effect is due to Leoric droning on and on about various nerdy topics.  He was "politely asked to go on sabbatical" from the Universities of Greyhaven after getting in one too many arguements with his colleagues there, so I like to imagine him wandering around the dungeon spouting all sorts of Know-it-All academic nonesense, which in turn distracts and demoralizes the enemy. =P

Sadly, his voice can still be heard from around corners. =P =P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This weekend, we had an argument about the part that says "to a minimum of 1". What about the defence dice?

Suppose one fo the Overlord's monster attacks a hero within three spaces of Leoric. The result is three <3 and one surge. The surge is used to get +1 <3. This gives a total of 4 <3 .

The hero rolls defence dice and gets a total three shields.

 

The total damage the hero gets is:

1) 0 damage

4 hearts - 1 (Leoric's ability) - 3 shields = 0

2) 1 damage

4 hearts - 3 shields = 1 damage (minimum of 1 applies here)

 

The majority of the group favors interpretation 1, as the card explicitely says that it changes the result of attack dice.

Comments?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Minimum of one" relates to the damage the roll can do. The rule is saying you can't negate a monster's heart count below one. The defense die has nothing to do with the ability. In your example the surge for +1 damage is negated by Leoric's ability giving a total of three hearts for his attack roll.

 

The minimum relates to a roll where the OL rolls a single heart of damage - this cannot be reduced to zero - he is always allowed to have a "minimum of one" heart as his damage roll.  Whether or not the defense dice prevent damage from being taken is irrelevant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0