Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
talismanamsilat

Bow (Armoury Card) - Printing Error

26 posts in this topic

"A" bow is certainly a weapon. How ever this is a game. idl like to see an official response to this… If it is a "weapon", does that mean you can not use another weapon later in the combat round? It is for this reason that I belive there is no error.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that the thought behind it is that you fire an arrow with the bow before the actual battle begins. Then you draw your sword or whatnot and rush into battle.

Is it to powerful? Maybe…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nidhögg said:

I think that the thought behind it is that you fire an arrow with the bow before the actual battle begins. Then you draw your sword or whatnot and rush into battle.

Is it to powerful? Maybe…

Nah, must be a weapon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As suggested above, the Bow IS a weapon, but it is NOT a Weapon.

Yes, it is a powerful object to have, but it might only bestow a bonus of 1 to your attack roll at the cost of a gold, or even the Bow itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

talismanisland said:

As suggested above, the Bow IS a weapon, but it is NOT a Weapon.

Could you clarify that bit? I don't have the card/rules handy. Does that mean, as said above, that the owner can fire it before battle? And what about before psychic combat?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

talismanisland said:

Yes, it is for use before a battle.

So its not a printing error? it was designed that way. I wonder how many bows are in the set? maybe its a early rush to get them :). I suppose its a way to stuff it up the assassin at least hehehe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Uvatha said:

 

talismanisland said:

 

Yes, it is for use before a battle.

 

So its not a printing error? it was designed that way. I wonder how many bows are in the set? maybe its a early rush to get them :). I suppose its a way to stuff it up the assassin at least hehehe.

 

 

 

There are 2 copies of each Armoury card.

With Bow & Flail you can roll 3 dice for your combat roll in battle on a regular basis, provided that you have some spare Gold. Considering that the two items cost 7G and a SINGLE visit to the Armoury, I believe that everyone with a full purse will race for those items in no time.

Besides the semantic dispute about weapons and Weapons, I think that making the Bow as a Weapon would have been a more balanced choice. The Bow is far, far better than the Mercenary Follower (with same costs) and it's a readily available Object that costs like a Sword in the Village. With the City board, I expect the Village Blacksmith to sadly close the shop and pack off to another fantasy realm.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The_Warlock said:

Uvatha said:

 

talismanisland said:

 

Yes, it is for use before a battle.

 

So its not a printing error? it was designed that way. I wonder how many bows are in the set? maybe its a early rush to get them :). I suppose its a way to stuff it up the assassin at least hehehe.

 

 

 

There are 2 copies of each Armoury card.

With Bow & Flail you can roll 3 dice for your combat roll in battle on a regular basis, provided that you have some spare Gold. Considering that the two items cost 7G and a SINGLE visit to the Armoury, I believe that everyone with a full purse will race for those items in no time.

Besides the semantic dispute about weapons and Weapons, I think that making the Bow as a Weapon would have been a more balanced choice. The Bow is far, far better than the Mercenary Follower (with same costs) and it's a readily available Object that costs like a Sword in the Village. With the City board, I expect the Village Blacksmith to sadly close the shop and pack off to another fantasy realm.

Yeah, right on going to make a house rule that its now a weapon. As for some of the other stuff in the city i will do something about that too… When i get it and have a good play test.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like it, that the bow is not to be used as a weapon :)

You fire it before the battle begins by rolling a die, and adding it to the attack score :)

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thernand said:

Yea But!

Characters that cannot use a Weapon can use the bow. FFG will need to clear this up.

Hahahaha the Monk… "No, no no can't use a sword it draws blood thats against my religon" "Oh wait heres a bow, it draws blood but because I'm so far away I don't care" :)… Yeah the Monk is just afraid of blood thats why he does not like swords.. It gets his robe dirty :).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thernand said:

Yea But!

Characters that cannot use a Weapon can use the bow. FFG will need to clear this up.

There is nothing to clear up. It is not a Weapon, so they may use it.

Bolithio likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Uvatha said:

Thernand said:

 

Yea But!

Characters that cannot use a Weapon can use the bow. FFG will need to clear this up.

 

Hahahaha the Monk… "No, no no can't use a sword it draws blood thats against my religon" "Oh wait heres a bow, it draws blood but because I'm so far away I don't care" :)… Yeah the Monk is just afraid of blood thats why he does not like swords.. It gets his robe dirty :).

 

 

But you think a Tavernmaid in Fullplait wielding a Flail makes sense ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

talismanisland said:

There is nothing to clear up. It is not a Weapon, so they may use it.

Yeah, we know… Just sounds silly :).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

Here is what FFG said about the Bow:

The Bow is indeed not a Weapon which means that a Monk may use it before Battle. In addition other characters may use both the Bow and a Weapon card during Battle.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thernand said:

Hi,

Here is what FFG said about the Bow:

The Bow is indeed not a Weapon which means that a Monk may use it before Battle. In addition other characters may use both the Bow and a Weapon card during Battle.

 

Not to sound pushy but… Who was that from FFG? Anyways thats ok. There is always players House Rules if it still stinks to much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Uvatha said:

 

talismanisland said:

 

Yes, it is for use before a battle.

 

So its not a printing error? it was designed that way. I wonder how many bows are in the set? maybe its a early rush to get them :). I suppose its a way to stuff it up the assassin at least hehehe.

 

 

 

There are 2 copies of each Armoury card.

With Bow & Flail you can roll 3 dice for your combat roll in battle on a regular basis, provided that you have some spare Gold. Considering that the two items cost 7G and a SINGLE visit to the Armoury, I believe that everyone with a full purse will race for those items in no time.

Besides the semantic dispute about weapons and Weapons, I think that making the Bow as a Weapon would have been a more balanced choice. The Bow is far, far better than the Mercenary Follower (with same costs) and it's a readily available Object that costs like a Sword in the Village. With the City board, I expect the Village Blacksmith to sadly close the shop and pack off to another fantasy realm.

The bow not that far bettter than the Mercenary. Odds are still even that it will do less or as much damage. But the bow is far more east to get.

Edited by paul dion

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if the bow is not a weapon doesnt that mean that like with warhorses you can use more than 1? The may not use more than once would not apply to other bows I believe...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes you can use more than one bow, as it doesn't have Weapon keyword. Rather bad from design standpoint if you ask me. 

Besides, there's another bow in the Woodland, and that one is a weapon. What gives?

Filippo likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0