Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GrandSpleen

The Power of Mordor

6 posts in this topic

Hey all, here's what I think is a tricky question:

-2-player Siege of Cair Andros, the 3rd card revealed during staging was The Power of Mordor (due to a Surge effect on a previous card).  This card reads:
 

"Doomed 3. When Revealed: Count the number of encounter cards in the staging area and shuffle them into the encounter deck.  Then, reveal an equal number of cards from the encounter deck and add them to the staging area.  This effect cannot be canceled."

In this particular Staging, there were two cards revealed before TPoM.  They were:

1) Scourge of Mordor: "When Revealed: Each player discards the top card of his deck. Until the end of the phase, raise the total threat in the staging area by X, where X is the total cost of all cards discarded by this effect."

This resulted in 3 threat being added to the staging area.

2) Orc Scramblers (1 threat and Surge, which lead to TPoM being revealed).

 

My question is: how many cards should I count for TPoM effect?  I consulted the manual, and it states that Treachery cards are put into the discard pile immediately after resolving their effect.  With this in mind, I was thinking

-Scourge of Mordor.  Don't count this one.  It is resolved and in the discard pile when TPoM is revealed.  However, the 3 threat from the discarded player cards will remain in the staging area.

- Orc Scramblers.  Count this.  It's an enemy and clearly in the staging area.

- TPoM.  Count this one as well.  The effect is not resolved at the time of counting (counting is part of resolving the effect), so TPoM is still in the staging area and should be counted for its own effect.

What do you think?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

GrandSpleen said:

Yes i agree with you for all points Hey all, here's what I think is a tricky question:

-2-player Siege of Cair Andros, the 3rd card revealed during staging was The Power of Mordor (due to a Surge effect on a previous card).  This card reads:

 

"Doomed 3. When Revealed: Count the number of encounter cards in the staging area and shuffle them into the encounter deck.  Then, reveal an equal number of cards from the encounter deck and add them to the staging area.  This effect cannot be canceled."

In this particular Staging, there were two cards revealed before TPoM.  They were:

1) Scourge of Mordor: "When Revealed: Each player discards the top card of his deck. Until the end of the phase, raise the total threat in the staging area by X, where X is the total cost of all cards discarded by this effect."

This resulted in 3 threat being added to the staging area.

2) Orc Scramblers (1 threat and Surge, which lead to TPoM being revealed).

 

My question is: how many cards should I count for TPoM effect?  I consulted the manual, and it states that Treachery cards are put into the discard pile immediately after resolving their effect.  With this in mind, I was thinking

-Scourge of Mordor.  Don't count this one.  It is resolved and in the discard pile when TPoM is revealed.  However, the 3 threat from the discarded player cards will remain in the staging area.

- Orc Scramblers.  Count this.  It's an enemy and clearly in the staging area.

- TPoM.  Count this one as well.  The effect is not resolved at the time of counting (counting is part of resolving the effect), so TPoM is still in the staging area and should be counted for its own effect.

What do you think?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I´m not sure treachery cards technically enter the staging area. Is there any word on this?

If they do then your interpretation seems pretty accurate though

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From rulebook page 14:

 

Step 2: Staging
After each player has had the opportunity to commit 
characters to the quest, the encounter deck reveals 
one card per player. This is known in the game as 
staging. These encounter cards are revealed one at a 
time, with any “when revealed” effects being resolved 
before the next card is revealed. Enemy and location 
cards revealed in this manner are placed in the staging 
area, treachery cards are resolved and (unless otherwise 
indicated by the card text) placed in the discard pile.
 

From this I gather Treachery cards do not enter the staging area, they just resolve.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0