Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
FuriousG

The Dark Pharoah Mask and the Dark Pharoah Herald

6 posts in this topic

 

Last night we played our first game with the dark pharoah herald, and the mask monster hit the board.  Rather than confront the mask directly, we opted to avoid it for a few turns, and then closed and sealed a gate that had a corresponding symbol to the mask and returned it to the cup.

The herald card indicates that when the mask monster is 'defeated', an effect occurs (the particular effect is escaping me at the moment).

By removing the mask monster through the gate closing, was the monster considered "defeated", thus triggering the effect?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. "Defeat" is identical to "pass a combat check against." Anything that would have allowed you to take the thing as a trophy (were it not for endless) would count as "defeat."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tibs said:

No. "Defeat" is identical to "pass a combat check against." Anything that would have allowed you to take the thing as a trophy (were it not for endless) would count as "defeat."

Even if I get trophy in encounter? (in graveyard you find corpse…., take from the cup one monster trophy)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nonimus said:

 

Even if I get trophy in encounter? (in graveyard you find corpse…., take from the cup one monster trophy)

 

 

In case you're instructed to draw a monster & keep it as a trophy, you don't pass a combat check against it. You simply find its corpse. So My Other Faces is not triggered

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0