Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Xenu's Paradox

Cards that don't look amazing but are

47 posts in this topic

Kordos said:

 

Heart of the Empire

Doesn't look all that great, if you lose it you lose the game  

but you are the Empire, time is on your side - build a deck around it and lull that filthy Rebel into your trap

 

plus 3 resources right off the bat - get those powerful Sith units out early in the game 

Home One and Red Five **** this objective. Be careful. Two turns (with some help from a Y-wing/X-Wing) and it's game over man!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

cooleo1c said:

ffg_rookie-pilot-core-13-3.png

This is perhaps the worst card in the entire Core Set………

The Imperial Pilot changes into an enhancement, but the Rebel pilot gets…..nothing?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jss_hobbie said:

Kordos said:

 

 

Heart of the Empire

Doesn't look all that great, if you lose it you lose the game  

but you are the Empire, time is on your side - build a deck around it and lull that filthy Rebel into your trap

 

plus 3 resources right off the bat - get those powerful Sith units out early in the game 

 

 

Home One and Red Five **** this objective. Be careful. Two turns (with some help from a Y-wing/X-Wing) and it's game over man!

Good thing the pod comes with the two absolute best defensive cards in the game (Coruscant Defense Fleet and There Is No Escape).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

agnos said:

Xenu's Paradox said:

Unless you have a way of refreshing resources. Currently, the combo is Leia + 2x IBAT + Rescue Mission + any event that removes Leia from play. However, FFG now has to be very careful about introducing LS effects that refresh resources, because such a card could conceivably reduce the complexity of the combo. For instance, an event that allows you to refresh multiple enhancements could replace Leia, Rescue Mission, and the removal event, dropping the combo down to 3 cards.

 

 

 

Fair enough.  Granted I'm not sure this 5 card combo can actually win you the game even if you are able to generate infinite resources.  Presumably you would have to be able to do 12 damage ( getting 3 unopposed bonus).  The combo so far requires pod 7 x2, pod 10 x2 and pod 16 x2.  Pod 7 gives you 8 blast icons; Pod 10 gives you 4 blast icons; Pod 16 gives you 0 blast icons.  So theoretically, you can use the combo with You're My Only Hope to draw your whole deck.  I think the combo can be disrupted with 1 Force Choke however as at some point you have to be playing cards out.  One It's Worse also negates Leia's trigger which can prevent it from going off in the mean time.  Plus the combo is so unlikely to get all the pieces at once that it's not worth playing.  But as you say, if FFG makes more ways to draw cards or refresh then it could be quite possible.

Don't forget that You're My Only Hope also forces the Dark Side player to discard a card each time it's used, so unless your opponent is running Looking for Droids and has It's Worse in hand, your combo is very difficult to disrupt. Additionally, you have the ability to clear the board with Heavy Blaster Emplacement, or if you'd rather have more blast damage since you'll win every edge battle anyways, you could use 2x The Rebel Fleet and 2x The Defense of Yavin 4 as your last 4 objectives.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jss_hobbie said:

cooleo1c said:

 

ffg_rookie-pilot-core-13-3.png

 

 

This is perhaps the worst card in the entire Core Set………

The Imperial Pilot changes into an enhancement, but the Rebel pilot gets…..nothing?

 

Well I think he has good flavor text

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

cooleo1c said:

jss_hobbie said:

 

cooleo1c said:

 

ffg_rookie-pilot-core-13-3.png

 

 

This is perhaps the worst card in the entire Core Set………

The Imperial Pilot changes into an enhancement, but the Rebel pilot gets…..nothing?

 

 

Well I think he has good flavor text

 

That's true. With that flavor text, making him an actually useful card would have been obscenely broken.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Toqtamish said:

Darik said:

 

After today's game where I taught my 12-year-old son how to play and saw him almost defeat the Imperial Navy with the Rebel Alliance, I'm a big fan of the X-wing Escort. Time it right and this little fighter can make them take down their own mighty Devastator. I think it could be great in combo with A New Hope because they're likely to keep their big powerful vehicle units in play, then you use the X-wing Escort's death to make them sacrifice one of the few units they still have on the table. I wonder if it would work well with  Heroic Sacrifice

 

 

 

It's not really that great with Heroic Sacrifice as your opponent will just choose to sacrifice the vehicle that is cost 4 or less that you have targeted with Heroic Sacrifice to be destroyed by the X-Wing Escort interrupt as the interrupt will resolve before Heroic Sacrifice which will then make your Heroic Sacrifice have no effect and just fizzle out and their Devastator will still be there. .

When you play heroic sacrifice to destroy the vehicle of 4 or lower, you sacrifice the escort to destroy the vehicle. They both leave play. While the escort is leaving play, you trigger its interrupt. As far as I'm aware, you can't choose to sacrifice something that is already leaving play. It's like trying to sacrifice the unit to pay for the cost of something you want to do while it is already leaving play from being destroyed, or returned to hand, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

stormwolf27 said:

Darik said:

 

After today's game where I taught my 12-year-old son how to play and saw him almost defeat the Imperial Navy with the Rebel Alliance, I'm a big fan of the X-wing Escort. Time it right and this little fighter can make them take down their own mighty Devastator. I think it could be great in combo with A New Hope because they're likely to keep their big powerful vehicle units in play, then you use the X-wing Escort's death to make them sacrifice one of the few units they still have on the table. I wonder if it would work well with  Heroic Sacrifice

 

A combo of X-wing Escort and Heroic Sacrifice brought down my Devastator in one of my last games. The Navy had an AT-ST, Devastator, and Motti in play. The light side player used Heroic Sacrifice to take the AT-ST out, then X-wing Escort's ability to also take out Devastator. As long as it is at the right time that combo can work very well for the Light Side. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oneabsolute said:

stormwolf27 said:

 

Darik said:

 

After today's game where I taught my 12-year-old son how to play and saw him almost defeat the Imperial Navy with the Rebel Alliance, I'm a big fan of the X-wing Escort. Time it right and this little fighter can make them take down their own mighty Devastator. I think it could be great in combo with A New Hope because they're likely to keep their big powerful vehicle units in play, then you use the X-wing Escort's death to make them sacrifice one of the few units they still have on the table. I wonder if it would work well with  Heroic Sacrifice

 

 

 

A combo of X-wing Escort and Heroic Sacrifice brought down my Devastator in one of my last games. The Navy had an AT-ST, Devastator, and Motti in play. The light side player used Heroic Sacrifice to take the AT-ST out, then X-wing Escort's ability to also take out Devastator. As long as it is at the right time that combo can work very well for the Light Side. 

The problem is that you could have simply sacrificed the AT-ST. Here's what happens.

1) The LS player plays Heroic Sacrifice, sacrificing X-Wing Escort and targeting AT-ST.

2) Because the ability of X-Wing Escort is an Interrupt, it resolves before Heroic Sacrifice finishes resolving. The DS player chooses a Vehicle unit to sacrifice, like say…AT-ST.

3) Heroic Sacrifice resolves, but its target has already left the play area, so it does nothing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

D.Knight Sevus said:

Oneabsolute said:

 

stormwolf27 said:

 

Darik said:

 

After today's game where I taught my 12-year-old son how to play and saw him almost defeat the Imperial Navy with the Rebel Alliance, I'm a big fan of the X-wing Escort. Time it right and this little fighter can make them take down their own mighty Devastator. I think it could be great in combo with A New Hope because they're likely to keep their big powerful vehicle units in play, then you use the X-wing Escort's death to make them sacrifice one of the few units they still have on the table. I wonder if it would work well with  Heroic Sacrifice

 

 

 

A combo of X-wing Escort and Heroic Sacrifice brought down my Devastator in one of my last games. The Navy had an AT-ST, Devastator, and Motti in play. The light side player used Heroic Sacrifice to take the AT-ST out, then X-wing Escort's ability to also take out Devastator. As long as it is at the right time that combo can work very well for the Light Side. 

 

 

The problem is that you could have simply sacrificed the AT-ST. Here's what happens.

1) The LS player plays Heroic Sacrifice, sacrificing X-Wing Escort and targeting AT-ST.

2) Because the ability of X-Wing Escort is an Interrupt, it resolves before Heroic Sacrifice finishes resolving. The DS player chooses a Vehicle unit to sacrifice, like say…AT-ST.

3) Heroic Sacrifice resolves, but its target has already left the play area, so it does nothing.

We played that wrong good to know for future games. Got to make mistakes sometimes to learn. Thanks for heads up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While "Heroic Sacrifice" isn't great, X-Wing Escort is still a wonderful target for "You're My Only Hope", "Fall Back", "Covering Fire", "A New Hope", and "Swindled".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for all the clarifications. I hadn't actually played those two cards together yet, but it is good to know that a rules savvy player would ruin my "combo" of "Heroic Sacrifice" and "X-wing Escort" for virtually no bonus effect. However, I hadn't thought of using it with Fall Back et al. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

D.Knight Sevus said:

 The definition Paradox is using for infinite combo is a loop that can be repeated an arbitrarily large number of times in a single turn. In order to do that, you need Leia Organa, both It Binds All Things, Rescue Mission, and You're My Only Hope. With those cards you may repeat the cycle until you run out of cards in your command deck.

A great draw engine like this could be made to be is great, but you'd wanna be careful. Decking yourself in this game, unlike other games, means a loss for you the next time you have to draw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 Cost for a 1 force icon, 1 damage point character with a GUARANTEED blast icon. I find it shocking how criminally underused he is in all the decks I've seen.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

musket_max said:

1 Cost for a 1 force icon, 1 damage point character with a GUARANTEED blast icon. I find it shocking how criminally underused he is in all the decks I've seen.

Um, he has a CHARACTER damage icon. He's strictly inferior to X-Wing (1 cost, 2 health, character damage and Edge blast damage), which is in the same pod, as well as others.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Xenu's Paradox said:

musket_max said:

 

1 Cost for a 1 force icon, 1 damage point character with a GUARANTEED blast icon. I find it shocking how criminally underused he is in all the decks I've seen.

 

 

Um, he has a CHARACTER damage icon. He's strictly inferior to X-Wing (1 cost, 2 health, character damage and Edge blast damage), which is in the same pod, as well as others.

 

Indeed, I do not find it useful at all. It needs to win the edge battle against any opponent to have the chance of… trepidation… inflict 1 damage?

Terrible…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kordos said:

Heart of the Empire

Doesn't look all that great, if you lose it you lose the game  

but you are the Empire, time is on your side - build a deck around it and lull that filthy Rebel into your trap

plus 3 resources right off the bat - get those powerful Sith units out early in the game 

 

And if you can slap a Defense Upgrade on it, you've got yourself a stronghold objective that can take a serious beating.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

geki said:

Xenu's Paradox said:

 

musket_max said:

 

1 Cost for a 1 force icon, 1 damage point character with a GUARANTEED blast icon. I find it shocking how criminally underused he is in all the decks I've seen.

 

 

Um, he has a CHARACTER damage icon. He's strictly inferior to X-Wing (1 cost, 2 health, character damage and Edge blast damage), which is in the same pod, as well as others.

 

 

 

Indeed, I do not find it useful at all. It needs to win the edge battle against any opponent to have the chance of… trepidation… inflict 1 damage?

Terrible…

This. Hence my question. Is there something you can sac him for?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0