Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Buffytrek

Court of the Witch King

Recommended Posts

Hello,

Was trying to find the answer to this on the forums but cant find it anywhere.

Does the Support card The court of the Witch King cause the opponent to discard cards only when the last resource token is removed then does nothing after this, or does it work on each subsequent turn.  I.e. I remove a token  0 -1 is -1 i.e. effectively 0, then since there are no more tokens on it the opponent must discard cards from his deck?

 

Many thanks

Noel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The part after "then" only happens if the part before "then" has resolved successfully. So you can only discard cards if you have first removed the last resource token. To trigger this effect more than once, you'll need a way to get a resource token on the card again first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What happens if I remove the last token in the Battlefield phase? Can I play the Action? I think no, because the condition of CotWK is "At the beginning of the turn… then…." so the last token must be removed at the beginning of the turn or the action is illegal, it's correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct. It's one action, with two parts. It can only be triggered at the beginning of your turn, and the second part happens only if you removed a token (the first part) and there then are no tokens left. If the last token is removed by some other effect, you don't get to discard cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like with Jealous Eyes? I'm not sure, because Jealous Eyes targets opponent's cards, not cards  your opponent controls. Pleasure Cults would be a card you own which your opponent controls, so I'd say that couldn't be targeted… But I'm not really sure on that one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like with Jealous Eyes? I'm not sure, because Jealous Eyes targets opponent's cards, not cards  your opponent controls. Pleasure Cults would be a card you own which your opponent controls, so I'd say that couldn't be targeted… But I'm not really sure on that one.

I'm curious on this question as well. Anyone have an official answer to this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Card texts - your unit, an opponent's unit, etc. - refer to control, not ownership (unless the explicitly speak of that). "Opponent's card" refers to a card controlled by the opponent, even if he doesn't own it. You can use Jealous Eyes to move tokens from a Pleasure Cults or Snotling Invasion you played under your opponent's control to a card you control.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...