Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
starman

Weapon Mastery does this mean you can attack with two one handed weapons

Recommended Posts

Does Weapon Mastery allow the use of two one handed weapons e,g, over riding the restriction of only atacking with one weapon.

Or can you use 2 x one handed weapons in the same attack

 

or is the card badly worded

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Each time you perform an attack with either 1 Melee weapon with 2 hand icons or 2 Melee weapons with 1 hand icon each, you may exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

It doesn't change how you attack, it can grant you a surge if you meet the requirements.  If you have two melee weapons equipped, you still need to choose one for a given attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Triu said:

"Each time you perform an attack with either 1 Melee weapon with 2 hand icons or 2 Melee weapons with 1 hand icon each, you may exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

It doesn't change how you attack, it can grant you a surge if you meet the requirements.  If you have two melee weapons equipped, you still need to choose one for a given attack.

 

So its badly worded or "Each time you perform an …" (which is singular) "…….2 Melee weapons with 1 hand icon each,……." 

This suggest you can attack once with a two handed melee  weapon or use 2 one handed melee weapons in a single attack.

The golden rule is that cards override the rules and this is weapon mastery.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Found this on BGG , explains all : - 

1. At the start of the turn you choose which weapons you have equipped for that turn. 

2. You can only add one surge to the combat result (from weapon mastery) if you have one 2-handed melee weapon or two 1-handed melee weapons equipped.

3. You can only choose 1 weapon to attack with. Thus in the two cases above, you can attack with the 2-handed weapon or one of the 1-handed weapons.

Example:

A Berserker got the following weapons in his backpack:

2-hand sword
1-hand dagger
1-hand mace
1-hand shield

At the start of his turn he can equip:

Sword (He will get the bonus of weapon mastery)
Dagger and Mace (He will get the bonus of weapon mastery)
Dagger and Shield or Mace and Shield (He will not get the bonus of weapon mastery)

There is no equip phase after you've taken your actions, so if you have not chosen to equip a shield at the start of your turn you cannot switch to it after your attacks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So it should say,

 

"Each time you perform and attack, if you have either 1 Melee weapon with 2 hand icons or 2 Melee weapons with 1 hand icon equipped, you may exhaust this card to add 1 {surge} to the results."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To give you the less technical meaning of what it intends: you can use the ability whenever you have both hands occupied with a melee weapon, whether it's one in each or one big one in both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You always attack with one weapon on an attack action when you have two (2) one-handed weapon equipped.

 

The only advantage it gives is being able to use surge ability from the weapon you did not attack with.

 

Don't forget to state which of the two on-handed weapon is used to perform the attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You always attack with one weapon on an attack action when you have two (2) one-handed weapon equipped.

 

The only advantage it gives is being able to use surge ability from the weapon you did not attack with.

 

Don't forget to state which of the two on-handed weapon is used to perform the attack.

I believe you are referencing Dual Strike.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the way it is currently worded is quite clear.

 

I concur.  The card is very clear as written.

 

For some reason, some people who play Descent have an obsession with the idea of dual-wielding, to the point where any card that even vaguely suggests the notion must be "written wrong" if it doesn't literally allow both equipped weapons to be used at once.  This was true in 1E as well.  I think it's just people accustomed to fantasy settings that depict badass dual-wielders like Drizzt and their obsession with portraying such a character themselves.

Edited by Steve-O

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I think the way it is currently worded is quite clear.

 

I concur.  The card is very clear as written.

 

 

Obviously, some don't agree.

 

 

For some reason, some people who play Descent have an obsession with the idea of dual-wielding, to the point where any card that even vaguely suggests the notion must be "written wrong" if it doesn't literally allow both equipped weapons to be used at once.  This was true in 1E as well.  I think it's just people accustomed to fantasy settings that depict badass dual-wielders like Drizzt and their obsession with portraying such a character themselves.

 

 

It really has nothing to do with Derp Do'urden.

 

You can dual-wield and attack with both weapons.  Just one per attack.  You get two attacks per turn, normally.

 

I've played an RPG (Fantasy Craft) where anyone can carry/wield two weapons, one in each hand, even mage-types.  You simply pick which one you attack with at any given time.  The advantage came from flexibility and choice. But there were also abilities you could gain where you would get a certain advantage if you had attacked with both of your weapons that turn, instead of using the same one twice.

 

So, in this specific case, without the text saying "equipped" in there, to me it kind of sounded like you had use both of your weapons that turn.  I questioned that, so I came here to necro an old post.

 

I was essentially trying to figure out how to "attack with two one-handed weapons" since the game rules never say how to do that.

 

That's the key.

"...attack with two one-handed weapons equipped..."

versus

"...attack with two one-handed weapons..."

 

I now see that it was intended to ensure that you made an attack when you had:

1) a two-handed weapon equipped

2) two one-handed weapons equipped

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I now see that it was intended to ensure that you made an attack when you had:

1) a two-handed weapon equipped

2) two one-handed weapons equipped

 

Indeed- it is weapon mastery- it's for those of us who ask, "Who needs a shield to block? Isn't that what my...

 

1)  ...greathammer's handle is for?"

or 

2) ...other axe is for?"

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×