Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Zwergenkrieger

Using the same OL card twice during a turn?

Recommended Posts

Hi everybody,

I was wondering if it is allowed to play, i.e. two times dash on my ettin monster, during one turn.

I read about a rule in this forum, that you are not allowed to play the same OL card twice on the same monster group, but I didn't found a reference and I didn't found these rules neithe rin the rule book, nor in the faq.

I found "Two Overlord cards with the same name cannot be played on the same target in response to the same triggering condition.  " in the rules (p.16), but the monster group isn't a triggering condition, or?

Can anyone help?

 

BR,

   Mario

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dash: "Play this card when activating a monster during your turn. That monster may perform an additional move action this turn in addition to its normal 2 actions."

My understanding is that the triggering condition is "when activating a monster" & the target is the Ettin, so you can't Dash it twice during the same activation.  You could Dash another monster during the same turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Same thing but different: 

Playing twice a "Unholy ritual" card during a turn, choosing the same monster, is not allowed, too?
Is this a triggering condition, too? If yes, is there a definition for a "triggering condition"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Zwergenkrieger said:

Same thing but different: 

Playing twice a "Unholy ritual" card during a turn, choosing the same monster, is not allowed, too?
Is this a triggering condition, too? If yes, is there a definition for a "triggering condition"?

Unholy Ritual: "Play this card at the start of your turn. Choose one of your monster groups and draw Overlord cards equal to the number of figures from that group on the map. Choose and keep 1 card per hero and discard the rest. Each monster in that group performs 1 less action during this turn."

I believe the triggering condition is "at the start of your turn" & the target is "one of your monster groups", so you can't use it twice.  FFG doesn't seem to be big on explicit definitions, at least in D2E …

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For clarification. On page 16 of the rule book goes over this fairly well. Here is what it states:

 

Each card specifies when it may be played. Two Overlord cards with the
same name cannot be played on the same target in response to the same
triggering condition. After resolving the effects of an Overlord card, place
it faceup in the discard pile.

 

Hopefully that helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Triu said:

FFG doesn't seem to be big on explicit definitions, at least in D2E …

FFG has a reputation for not always being as explicit as they could be about their rules.

 

Zwergenkrieger said:

is there a definition for a "triggering condition"?

A "triggering condition" is defined as the condition after which the card is allowed to be played, based on the text the card contains.  Generally speaking, it is not difficult to tell what the triggering condition of a card is, although sometimes the precise timing of a triggering condition can get murky.

Some examples:

1) "Play at the start of your turn…"  The triggering condition is the start of your turn.  The "start of your turn" is widely accepted as being up until you begin activating monsters, if I'm not very much mistaken.  You may only play one copy of this card per turn, since your turn only starts once for each turn you have.

2) "Play when activating a monster…" The triggering condition is you activating a single monster (NOT a monster group, mind you.)  You can only play one copy of this card per monster activation, but you may play several copies of the card per turn, each on a separate monster which you activate.  Note in general that monster groups are not activated, only individual monsters.  The rules say you must activate all monsters belonging to a group in sequence, but you don't actually activate the group as a whole.

3) "Play during an attack…" The triggering condition is that you are in the midst of making an attack against an enemy target.  You may only play one copy on this card per attack, however, if a single monster is able to make two attacks in one turn, you may play a copy of this card on each attack, if you have two of them.  Generally speaking, you may wait until after dice are rolled to use the card, unless it specifically says "play before dice are rolled" or "play when declaring an attack."  The term "during" an attack is usually meant to refer to the step where surges and abilities are used, which is after dice are rolled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×