Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ninjaplease

Dark Fortune Reroll Question

5 posts in this topic

When using the overlord card: Dark Fortune

 

It says:  After dice are rolled you can reroll 1 dice. 

 

Can this be applied at any point during the sequence that triggers this?  Meaning, if I attack a hero who then taps some of his items to reduce the damage, can I choose to reroll the dice in hopes of amping the damage output, or did I miss my opportunity when the player rolled defense dice and started playing cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Attack dice and defense dice are technically rolled simultaneously (even if you need to roll the defense dice multiple times for separate targets) so I would say you can play this card after all such dice are rolled to try and amp damage (or reduce shields rolled by re-rolling a defense die - the card doesn't say it has to be your die that gets re-rolled.)

I would also argue that this card could be played in response to an opponent's ability that causes dice to be added or re-rolled after the initial roll, since the trigger for Dark Fortune is "play after dice are rolled" and even a re-roll is still a roll.  1E had a rule about no single die may be re-rolled more than once, but that rule does not appear to be part of 2E (that I can recall seeing.)

There's also a certain amount fo "common courtesy" in any game that involves a lot of differently timed effects that says all players should give one another a reasonable amount of time to declare effects.  If your opponent is jumping the gun to declare some ability and then saying it's too late to play DF, you should allow for a "rewind" to get your card in.  The opponent may then choose to continue with his declared action or do something different instead.  The same goes if you as OL accidentally jump the gun on a hero player's card, of course.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Steve-O said:

… - the card doesn't say it has to be your die that gets re-rolled.)

… the trigger for Dark Fortune is "play after dice are rolled" and even a re-roll is still a roll … 

You didn't quote the card exactly.  You have to roll dice before you are allowed to reroll

Dark Fortune: "Play this card after you roll dice. You may reroll 1 die."

I don't think you can reroll another player's dice -- you have to roll a die, before you can reroll that die.  The Iron Longsword, Staff of Light/Shadows relic, Red Scorpion's heroic ability, and Skye familiar allow you to force an opponent to reroll their own dice. 

I do agree that you can play the card at any time before the combat is resolved & the game moves on, not just immediately after the initial roll. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This was one of the biggest points of contension in the game as we both rolled our respective die, the player should have been taken out, but then played a card that let him reduce the damage, in response I gambled and rerolled a die which resulted in a surge which was enough to knock him out.  Then it became a big issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ninjaplease said:

This was one of the biggest points of contension in the game as we both rolled our respective die, the player should have been taken out, but then played a card that let him reduce the damage, in response I gambled and rerolled a die which resulted in a surge which was enough to knock him out.  Then it became a big issue.

Well, in that case the player should have objected to your card play before you re-rolled the die if he had a problem with it.  That he waited until after you had re-rolled to protest tells me that he was just crying about having lost the gamble.

I think that was fair play, personally.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0