Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Nephalite

Question about revive

22 posts in this topic

Okay my gaming group has just finished the intro mission "First Blood". The only ruling problem we argued about was reviving a downed hero as an action. The OL was convinced even if the hero was revived by another hero, the hero being revived had to wait till the hero's next round to act. We argued that the player who was revied by another hero would get to act on the turn he was revived. So which one is it ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I concurr.

p. 10 only has the mention "he can only perform a stand up action" under the Stand Up paragraph. Nothing is said under the Revive a Hero paragraph.

That is the great advantage of Revive over Stand Up.

Of course, if the KO hero is isolated, it only will be able to Stand Up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If reviving a hero had no benefit, then there would be no option. Think about it this way. Reviving a hero costs (1) action, a hero standing up costs (2) actions. Reviving a hero is a net gain of (1) action for the hero.

Paul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only reason he might not get a turn, and that would just be down to some Darwin-award winning player decisions, is if the downed hero took his turn first, decided he didn't want to stand up (since Stand Up is not mandatory), but having done his turn, flips over his card (step 4 of the hero turn), his turn would've been over and done by the time the next hero Revives him. Theoretical, but doubt you'll see it in reality.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, and do not listen to the evil OL too much.

BTW your OL should check rules better when trying to apply an effect that favours him : I tend to be suspicious about players who offer rulings to their advantage, without grounding their arguments into clear rule

references.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

pbenner said:

If reviving a hero had no benefit, then there would be no option. Think about it this way. Reviving a hero costs (1) action, a hero standing up costs (2) actions. Reviving a hero is a net gain of (1) action for the hero. Paul

It could be argued that most of the time, reviving an ally will also cost two actions (one to move over to the fallen ally, another to revive him) except in cases where the fallen ally is close enough that the reviver need not move, or is able to move with fatigue instead.  So really, the question is "which hero do we want to see miss a turn?"

That said, I do agree that the hero being stood up via Revive is free to act in the same turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Steve-O said:

It could be argued that most of the time, reviving an ally will also cost two actions (one to move over to the fallen ally, another to revive him) except in cases where the fallen ally is close enough that the reviver need not move, or is able to move with fatigue instead.
This could be said about any action.
Fatigue move is a key element of the game.
Not taking too much risks being isolated from other heroes is also very important - but "breaching a defense line" can lead to have a "runner" quickly move behind a monster group who will reestablish a "wall of flesh", either to distract them from attacking the main group or to reach an objective (typically, find a special key that opens a locked door).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have done it as overlord. A well played Frenzy on the Ettin and swinging hard and you will easily drop a lower health hero.

You also have the goblins who can dish out a good bit of damage. Especially effective if you can get them in position to move, shoot, and then block them with an ettin to double move the next turn.

Paul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dam said:

Only reason he might not get a turn, and that would just be down to some Darwin-award winning player decisions, is if the downed hero took his turn first, decided he didn't want to stand up (since Stand Up is not mandatory), but having done his turn, flips over his card (step 4 of the hero turn), his turn would've been over and done by the time the next hero Revives him. Theoretical, but doubt you'll see it in reality.

 

I saw this in the FAQs section and it made me scratch my head.  All I could think was that the Knocked Out Hero just wanted to lay low until the Ruling Ring was destroyed in Mount Doom or something.  Maybe the Eagles to rescue the dwarves from the burning trees on the edge of the cliff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

mt77061 said:

I saw this in the FAQs section and it made me scratch my head.  All I could think was that the Knocked Out Hero just wanted to lay low until the Ruling Ring was destroyed in Mount Doom or something.  Maybe the Eagles to rescue the dwarves from the burning trees on the edge of the cliff.

If the choice is between missing a turn (not standing up) or missing a turn & giving the overlord a card (because you're just going to get knocked out again), the former seems preferable.  In some circumstances it may be worthwhile because the OL is forced to use actions to knock you down again, but if your token is next to monster(s) blocking a hall and/or with nothing better to do anyway …

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I've definately seen a hero that is knocked out skip their turn because they would've used Stand Up and ended up in the middle of a monster pack, ready for another KO with barely an effort from the OL.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

well, as Overlord, I give the now-revived player his turn to act. otherwise the reviving character would lose an action without any benefit. However what happens if you revive someone or if you stand up and roll double blanks?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you cant, when you stand up you roll one red die an when you're reviving someone they roll two red dice. The mininum is one heart per red dice. Its impossable to roll a miss

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it specifically states in the rule book on page 15 "Unless reveived by another hero, a knocked out hero may only perform one action on his next turn, and that action must be to stand back up (see "Stand Up" on page 10).

I believe there is also a question asked about that in the Adam Sez Forum on BGG. The emphasis is mine in the above statement, but it (while I know it doesn't outright say it) implies that the hero would have his two actions after being revived by another hero, or if the knocked out hero is the target of a healing spell. When the hero is healed by the spell, they automatically stand up and regain however many hitpoints the spell allows.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

zogking said:

you cant, when you stand up you roll one red die an when you're reviving someone they roll two red dice. The mininum is one heart per red dice. Its impossable to roll a miss

Zog, reread your rule book. Regardless of standing up on your own, or being revived by another player, you roll the two red dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, just check in the rule book, your right. But what I thought galaxian9 meant was if you roll both red power dice and they both come up blanks. last time I checked there isnt a blank on the red power die

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, a small fallow up question. A hero is droped, but is neither revived nor he stands up. He gets some HP from any healing spell or ability of his companions. Does he misses his turn or not (in the manual there is a paragraph on this situation and it states that the hero can act on his NEXT turn - next like not this one or when he activates?).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Next turn is his next turn - quite like when he is revived - which usually means quite immediately (i.e. he does not remain idle during his turn).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0