Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dwightsboardgame

Using New Caprica and Cylon Fleet Board (CAG)

5 posts in this topic

When playing with both New Caprica and the Cylon Fleet Board, after Galactica returns, if a human uses the shipyard action to evacuate a prepared civilian ship, is it placed following Pegasus rules (page 20), or following the CAG card rules?

Pegasus:
From that point on, any time a civilian ship is evacuated, the current player moves the top ship on the Prepared Civilian Ships stack to a space area with a viper launch icon.
 

CAG:
When a civilian ship needs to be placed on the main game board, you must choose the space area. You must choose an area that does not already contain civilian ships (if able).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ouch.  You are hurting my brain.

I think the key would be "move" over "placed."   

"Placed" is normally from supply.  "Move" is a movement of a peice.

Since it says Move, I would say it's the same as Communication (allowed the movement of civilians ships), and it would be the activators choice. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mephisto666 said:

Ouch.  You are hurting my brain.

I think the key would be "move" over "placed."   

"Placed" is normally from supply.  "Move" is a movement of a peice.

Since it says Move, I would say it's the same as Communication (allowed the movement of civilians ships), and it would be the activators choice. 

LOL!

It was a serious question. :P

I didn't really look into the wording of the two statements that deeply. I so rarely play with New Caprica since Exodus came out. After my group played an Ionian Nebula game we decided to play BSG again but this time to use New Caprica, we just went with the card superceding the book because typicaly when a card conflicts with the rule book, the card takes precedence, and that Exodus was newer.

As we played, I didn't quite like how it played with them going in scattered spots, so if I did it again, I think I would try it your way. Your interpretation seems reasonable, but one could also argue that even though it is being "moved" from the New Caprica game board, it is still "being placed on the main game board"… Sorry, I'll stop.. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi i can answer this one as i have the rule books right here in front of me.

Answer: Pegasus rules takes precedence in this and regardless of whether the current player or the CAG is instructed to place civillian ships 

Explanation:

Exodus rule book p22 : Note that during the New Caprica phase, civilian ships are utilized as described on pages 13–17 of the Pegasus rulebook. Civilian ships do not remain in space areas during New Caprica setup. However, after Galactica has returned to orbit, vipers may be activated to escort civilian ships in space areas as described on page 15 of this rulebook.

Exodus rule book P14: Whenever a game effect instructs the CAG to place a civilian ship on the main game board, the CAG chooses which space area to place the ship in. The CAG must, if able,* place the civilian ship in a space area that does not already have a civilian ship in it.             

* Note the Cag is 'Not Able' to do this because the rules in pegasus stipulate how the ships are placed    

Pegasus rulebook p15: During the Prepare for Jump step of every subsequent New Caprica Crisis Card, when an evacuation icon appears, the current player takes one civilian ship from the top of the Prepared Civilian Ships stack and moves it to any space area with a viper launch icon.

the FAQ also resolves the issue: as a specific area is indicated by the Pegasus rule book.  

Q: When a game effect instructs a player to place a civilian ship in a specific space area, such as behind Galactica, does the CAG choose a space area instead?

 A: No, the CAG only chooses where to place civilian ships only in cases where no specific space area is indicated.

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0