• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Persiatic

Question after first run of the game

8 posts in this topic

Hi

Me and my friends just bought this game and had our first run at it. We had a blast but realized we pretty much all played without any specific strategy haha. But I can see the potential of the strategy complexity in the future when we get more familiarized witht he game.

Anyway, there was one situation which became a bit wierd. which I couldn't find any answer to in the rules or forum:

1. During Saurons action move, he moves one of his minions into a hero location.

2. During the heroes turn he can't rest since minion on his space and he now get's ambushed by the minion.

3. The hero does not defeat the minion, (they both fight until they get exausted). The hero is left with 0 cards in his hand and can't move away from the location.

4. So Sauron keeps the minion on the same space. The question is will the hero be ambushed again his next turn?

    - If yes, and the hero knows he will loose next fight can he just declare defeated and get teleported to a heaven so that he can play his turn normally next turn?

Also 2 more questions:

1. In hero travel step, he goes to a location with a monster/minion and fights but neither wins the fight (both fights until exhausted). Does this mean that the hero is defeated and his turn ends?

2. If a hero gets ambushed and again neither wins the fight (they both fight to exhausted) does this mean the player can continue exploring the location?

Regards

Pers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Persiatic said:

1. During Saurons action move, he moves one of his minions into a hero location.

2. During the heroes turn he can't rest since minion on his space and he now get's ambushed by the minion.

3. The hero does not defeat the minion, (they both fight until they get exausted). The hero is left with 0 cards in his hand and can't move away from the location.

4. So Sauron keeps the minion on the same space. The question is will the hero be ambushed again his next turn?

    - If yes, and the hero knows he will loose next fight can he just declare defeated and get teleported to a heaven so that he can play his turn normally next turn?

Also 2 more questions:

1. In hero travel step, he goes to a location with a monster/minion and fights but neither wins the fight (both fights until exhausted). Does this mean that the hero is defeated and his turn ends?

2. If a hero gets ambushed and again neither wins the fight (they both fight to exhausted) does this mean the player can continue exploring the location?

1-4: Note that the hero doesn't have to play all his cards, he can declare himself exhausted in order to move away (assuming he is not defeated by the minion). Yes, if the hero sticks around, he will be ambushed again. No on the declaring to be defeated. You can defeat yourself by moving with your last card or playing your last card in combat though.

Additionals:

#1: Yes, unless said hero is Thalin whose ability lets him continue his turn.

#2: Yes, he takes his turn normally after the Ambush step.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tnx a lot for the quick reply Dam, nice to see a familiar gamer from the Talisman forums here as well =D

One more question I need verifying. If I connect two shadow strongholds with influence chain do all the spaces with influence now have the influence size of the stronghold with the most influence in it?

Meanning if I conencted stronghold A and B, and A have 2 influence in it and B have 4. Now I can put 4 influence on all spaces as long as I can trace that space back to stronghold B ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Persiatic said:

Tnx a lot for the quick reply Dam, nice to see a familiar gamer from the Talisman forums here as well =D

One more question I need verifying. If I connect two shadow strongholds with influence chain do all the spaces with influence now have the influence size of the stronghold with the most influence in it?

Meanning if I conencted stronghold A and B, and A have 2 influence in it and B have 4. Now I can put 4 influence on all spaces as long as I can trace that space back to stronghold B ?

Correct. Though most of the time, Sauron doesn't really need or benefit from having 4 influence, I tend to max at 3. That's the limit at Dol Guldur and Mt. Gundabad and Mordor doesn't need or benefit from having all that influence (only a couple of Plots, heroes won't be moving in there that much) and it's enough to get Peril against all but Eleanor, who is better being hindered with monsters/minions. If you do get the RWs or 6 influence to Shire, you can put in the groundwork in otherwise, just leaving enough to do that you can use 1-2 influence actions the turn before the Finale to get Barad-Dur to 6, have a chain from there to Shire and Shire at 6. Sadly, it's really, really easy for the heroes to sever that chain since influence removal comes before the Story Step (when the Finale begins). Best bet for that Mission, winning by mission is "They Are Terrible" Shadow Card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cool tnx for the tip. Also it says in the rules that the heroes can discuss tactics openly as long as Sauron player gets to hear the conversation but they are not allowed to look at eachothers hero cards. So:

1. Can the heroes look at eachothers quests?

2. If I understood this correct they can pretty much talk about anything like giving eachother hints on how to play their turn etc as long as it is open to the sauron player?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Persiatic said:

1. Can the heroes look at eachothers quests?

2. If I understood this correct they can pretty much talk about anything like giving eachother hints on how to play their turn etc as long as it is open to the sauron player?

#1: All Quests are face-up, so open knowledge for heroes and Sauron.

#2: Yep.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does this mean you also have the advanced quests faceup before the starting quests are done? If so do you do all the setup steps of the quests if there are any even for advanced quets?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, but that's only because the reward for the SQs say reveal AQ. Granted, it isn't outright stated that the quests in play (let's put it like that) are face-up, but picture of the Setup on page 9 has them thus. And since there is placement involved in the S and AQ, have to verify that it is indeed that quest. Further, having them face-down wouldn't really make a difference after the first couple of games, the requirements are quickly memorized, it's just less hassle to have them face-up. Similarly, Encounter deck quests, you have to verify that the quest you drew indeed had the lowest number of the encounters that you could potentially resolve, not to mention:

"However, if the term “Quest” appears in italics at the top of the text box, the hero player places the card faceup in his play area (see “Quests” on page 25)." (p. 24)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0