Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Focus cards to play abilities…

Recommended Posts


Hi everyone.

On page 10 of the rulebook, in A MATTER OF FOCUS, we read  "A card’s controller may focus a card to perform an ability or take some other action. When doing so, a focus token is placed on the card".

And then, on page 24 we find "All card abilities fall into one of the following types: constant effects, actions, traits, interrupts, reactions, and keywords."

So, if i'm correct, activate an Action = perform an ability

Now, my question is:

When I activate an Action or any other Ability on a card have I to place a Focus Token on that card to exhaust it?

Example: Repair Dorid [Action: Remove 1 damage from a target Vehicle unit. (Limit once per turn.)]

If I wanna play this Action (during  the Action Window) have I to place a Focus token on Repair Droid to remove 1 damage from the target?

This happen with obiectives too? THX



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that the wording there is a little confusing. The answer is that you only focus when the ability tells you to. For instance, if the ability read "Focus this card to…" So in the case of the repair droid, no focusing needed.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...