• Announcements

    • FFG Fra

      Upcoming Changes to the Fantasy Flight Games Forums   01/20/2017

      Hello Fantasy Flight Games forum community!   This week, we will be making some important changes to your Fantasy Flight Games community account and the way that you log into the Fantasy Flight Games community forums and web store.   We have been working hard to integrate with the rest of the Asmodee group, and we are happy to announce a unified way to access all the websites and apps made by Fantasy Flight Games, Days of Wonder, and Asmodee!   For most users, nothing will change: you will still log into the Fantasy Flight Games forums using your current login name and password. Only the login user interface will be new.   For a few users, your credentials might be slightly changed. For example, this could happen to users who have both a Fantasy Flight Games and Days of Wonder account, or in the case of conflicting login names across platforms. When these situations occur, special e-mails will be sent to those users with an easy explanation about those changes and what steps to take next. For any of you receiving those e-mails, please make sure to follow the instructions carefully.   Remember, official communications from Fantasy Flight Games or Asmodee.Net will never ask for your password.   What are the benefits for you as a player? Using a unified account to access all of our web services and apps makes your life simpler. Over time, you will see new features emerging, such as keeping all of your friends under a single account, finding friends easily in apps with online play, or developing your personal profile by adding to your board games collection. These are just some of the features that you will see during the next year, once this important technical step is complete.   Important note: The migration of the forums to our new system will take place on Tuesday, January 24th. The forums will be offline for about two hours during that time. Once the migration is complete, older forum posts may look strange for up to 24 hours as we rebuild them in our new system.   We can’t wait to connect our board game communities and build bridges between universes, game systems, players, events, groups, game clubs, and more! This is only the first step in bringing people and games closer together. For more information, read our FAQ at https://asmodee.helpshift.com/a/asmodee-net/.   Best regards,   The Fantasy Flight Games Team
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
alboy

Cards which state In Arkham

17 posts in this topic

When a card mentions a monster "in Arkham", l know it includes all Locations in Arkham & expansion boards Locations, does it also include monsters in The Sky & The Outskirts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It definitely includes the Sky, and I personally believe it includes the Outskirts, but research is murky on this.

My thought is that if a monster gets removed from Dunwich via an "in Arkham" clause, certainly the monsters in the much nearer Outskirts must be removed as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a related question. Are monsters in the sky considered "in play?" It seems like they are, but then what about the corruption card "Call the Beast?" It says to exchange one monster in play with one in the outskirts, if able. We decided to exchange the Shan in the sky with a zombie in the outskirts. Flying zombies! 

Thematically, this made no sense, but I allowed it anyway because it's pretty funny, and I couldn't find a good argument that the sky was not "in play."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For Call The Beast we've specifically disallowed Sky switching unless with another flying monster, but you're right: "in play" isn't well-defined. I'd say "in play" is anything on the board.

I see you're having text problems too. FFG keeps experimenting with the forum, and it keeps being a nuisance.

I managed to annoy Ryan Everett today by pounding on the left click button, trying desparately hoping the "Publish" button would work. Guess we'll see if it does now…

 

Edit: 10 minutes later-- located Internet Explorer, loaded Interet Explorer, signed in, loaded thread, pasted reply, submitted.

I'm not posting anymore until they fix this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Professor said:

Happy Birthday, Tibs! Have a great gaming day.

It's Tibs's birthday? It's my birthday, and Dr. Overduin's birthday (Tibs knows him). 

(And yeah, Google Chrome doesn't let me hit "publish." Time to go over to firefox and copy and paste again…)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jack21222 said:

 

(And yeah, Google Chrome doesn't let me hit "publish." Time to go over to firefox and copy and paste again…)

 

 

Which version of firefox are you using? Mine seems not to coop.

Happy birthday Chris! May the stars be always right for you :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(Pasted into IE)

Er, thanks everyone, but my birthday's in June! Must be a result of more forum silliness.

Similarly, happy B-day Jack. I saw Overduin today, but he gave no indication it was his birthday. I'll get him back.

 

I don't know what's going on, but the FFG web department says they're not having the issues we are. I'm going to email them this thread.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

l am confused now as It seems FFG disagrees with you, l sent them a email the same time l posted in the forum and this is their reply.

Rule Question

When a card mentions a monster "in Arkham", l know it includes all Locations in Arkham & expansion boards Locations, does it also include monsters in The Sky & The Outskirts ?
 

Their reply

Thanks for the question. A reference to monsters "in Arkham" does not apply to monsters in the Sky or in the Outskirts, unless it specifically mentions either or both of those areas. Hope that helps!
 

Tim Uren
Associate Producer
turen@fantasyflightgames.com

 

Like you, l fought in the Sky was always in Arkham but was not sure about the Outskirts.

Perhaps another one for the long awaited up todate FAQ.



 


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sometimes I wonder if the people from FFG answering those question do really think before answering. Too often over the last months we've heard of private answers that are completely in contrast with other cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thomas Cartwright said:

From the just-released FAQ (http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp?eidn=3789):

Q: When a Mythos Card says all Chthonians and Dholes
in Arkham are returned to the cup, does the Outskirts
count as “in Arkham?”
A: No.

 



Honestly, I'm glad they made that change.  Even if it does make the game a little easier ;'D (it wasn't like that in the early FAQ version, IIRC).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh snap, looks like we finally asked for the FAQ and got it, eh?

Welp, Outskirts doesn't count anymore. I have no problems with that (except maybe to remember it now…)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Avi_dreader said:

 


Honestly, I'm glad they made that change.  Even if it does make the game a little easier ;'D (it wasn't like that in the early FAQ version, IIRC).

 

 

Avi? You here? Not someone stealing your avatar and nickname?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0