Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Andur Saibot

Sorry to insist but…

12 posts in this topic

Shouldn't "Lightsaber Deflection" have the Force keyword as well as Alter, Sense and/or Control?

I know is not the most important issue over here, but knowing the level of erratas that FFG sometimes have in their new releases (I am a MOM player as you can see) I think it was worth mentioning it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where is Luke supposed to be in that picture? It kind of looks like the Emperor's throne room on the Death Star. Which begs the question of who's shooting at him, as I'd imagine the throne room is more or less a "no blasting zone" for stormtroopers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Toqtamish said:

Why would it ? It is not using the Force it is using the lightsaber itself. 

 

med_lightsaber-deflection-core-5-5.jpg

 

 

Just like in here, it would seem…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Andur Saibot said:

Toqtamish said:

 

Why would it ? It is not using the Force it is using the lightsaber itself. 

 

med_lightsaber-deflection-core-5-5.jpg

 

 

 

 

Just like in here, it would seem…

Your assumption is that it wasn't a purposeful distinction.  You can't claim it was a mistake because FFG has to errata some cards, because most require no errata.  Maybe a future card allows you to recycle Force events, and they don't want Deflection recycled etc.  You are assuming to much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe one requires the Force and one does not, the flavor text on Counter Stroke points to that. Or maybe it is simply as others said supposed to be this way and was fully intentional.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, maybe this is fully intentional due to in-game purpose, and I am OK with that, but Lightsaber Deflection has been a Jedi technique/Force manipulation ability since the beginning of STARWARS-based games and it just felt weird it wasn't in here.

Please note this was no deliberate attack to FFG, just a remark based on bitter experience.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 This is silly.

The most likely explanation is that the card does not have the force trait due to it potentially being too powerful in conjunction with current or future cards that may target or enhance cards with the force trait.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lightsaber Deflection does seem quite powerful, since it doesn't stipulate anything about the source of the damage being redirected. It can come from striking, card effects, anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MarthWMaster said:

Lightsaber Deflection does seem quite powerful, since it doesn't stipulate anything about the source of the damage being redirected. It can come from striking, card effects, anything.

This card has Tarkin's face written all over it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0