Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Amante

Inconsistency in the FAQ regarding response opportunities

Recommended Posts

I haven't played CoC for a good long while, so I'm going over all the cards I've missed. One that caught my attention was Lookout, a Syndicate character with a triggered ability that reads, "Response: After a character enters play, exhaust Lookout to exhaust that character. Until the end of the phase, treat that character as if its text box was blank." I started wondering if Lookout could be used to shut down characters with disruptive 'entering play' Responses (Hard Case, Hungry Dark Young, Victoria Glasser, et cetera). Obviously, Lookout's Response would have to take place first for the text blanking to "stop" the Response on a the character that just entered play. It was at this point that I realized I wasn't entirely sure who got first priority on Response opportunities, so I opened up the FAQ to check. Inside, I found two seemingly contradicting answers. Hopefully you guys can tell me which of the two to go by:

 

'Action, Disrupt, and Response Effects', Page 17: "Any number of responses can be played in response to any occurrence that allows them to trigger, with response opportunities passing back and forth between players, starting with the active player."


'6) Responses', Page 18: "After all disrupts, passive abilities, and/or forced responses to an action are resolved, players may now play normal responses in clockwise order (starting with the player to the left of the player who initiated the action)."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Amante said:

'Action, Disrupt, and Response Effects', Page 17: "Any number of responses can be played in response to any occurrence that allows them to trigger, with response opportunities passing back and forth between players, starting with the active player."

 


'6) Responses', Page 18: "After all disrupts, passive abilities, and/or forced responses to an action are resolved, players may now play normal responses in clockwise order (starting with the player to the left of the player who initiated the action)."

 

I don't think these passages contradict each other. They explain different things:

 

The first quote clarifies that it is possible to trigger several responses triggering off the same trigger event, e.g. if you have two copies of a card in play. However, after triggering your first Response, your opponent gets an opportunity to trigger a Response of his own before you get to trigger your second Response.

The second quote clarifies the order in which actions of the different types are resolved, i.e. first all disrupts are resolved, then all passive abilities, then all forced responses before any responses can be triggered. I.e. if a character with a Forced Response enters play, you cannot use a Response to act before it is resolved. Likewise you couldn't trigger an Action ability before your opponent's triggering of a Response ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Well they do contradict:

"starting with the active player."

"in clockwise order (starting with the player to the left of the player who initiated the action)"

I always played thinking that active player starts when playing disrupts and responses, so i was really surprised to see the second quote. I think it's some kind of mistke but maybe i played wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

.Zephyr. said:

 Well they do contradict:

"starting with the active player."

"in clockwise order (starting with the player to the left of the player who initiated the action)"

I always played thinking that active player starts when playing disrupts and responses, so i was really surprised to see the second quote. I think it's some kind of mistke but maybe i played wrong.

Look at the context: The second quote is describing the order during the Action Window. In 1) the active player opens the Action Window by taking an Action (In this case putting a character into play). Now, the defending player gets the first opportunity to trigger an effect (in this case using the Lookout's Response).

The active player does not get to take an Action to put a character into play and then trigger its Response before the defending player can trigger a Response (or Disrupt or Passive Effect). Agreed?

So both sections are correct: The active player starts by putting a character into play and the defending player gets the first opportunity to react to it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...