Sign in to follow this  
kr4ng

Worlds 2012: recap

Hey my name is Steven and I'd like to provide a short Worlds recap.

I just started playing thrones in August, but learned quickly under the tutelage of three time world champion Erick Butzlaff. Dan Ack should also get some credit for helping me prepare.  My favorite card is Northern Cavalry Flank, so I ran three of those in my joust deck.

I'll skip the Swiss portion of joust (I went 5 and 1, the spanish champ thrashed me one game) and get right into my top 16 recap: 

Game 1: Stark Winter (me) v. Targ no agenda (Matthieu)

Matthieu is a pretty svelt dude. I enjoyed our time in between games during Swiss when we talked about how the game is played differently in Europe.  I hope to see him again next year.  He told me that Europe moved on from Stark Winter-but I guess they should take another look at it.  When he played Wildfire Assault turn 2 I began to suspect he had no valar, so I flooded the board and went to town.

Game 2: me v. Lanni Tpbtt (Greg Atkinson) 

I had to read his agenda because I wasn't quite sure what it all did.  I tried to mulligan into Catlyn Stark (the good version) and shut him down. It didn't happen.  He played a house divided on my Flank turn 1.  I had never seen that card before.  Then he proceeded to outplay me. He is a world champion so I suppose I can't be too upset.  He also was really nice guy; I hope I can play him again next year.

finish: 7th 

Melee recap: A lot has been said and will be said still about the 2012 melee. In play testing I will just say that that martell deck had some cards that shut it down. I won't say which cards but even if they errata hellholt engineer, it is still the best deck, so everyone should play it next year.

finish: 7th (but actually 10th because Rick, Dennis and Erick all bested me until they totally cheated in the finals)