Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
AUCodeMonkey

Station Eismette/Deranged Diva

30 posts in this topic

I submitted a rules question and got a really fast answer from Damon Stone:

Q: Station Eismitte + Dr. Carson: Is his Action triggerable because of Eismitte? (Dr. Carson has to be exhausted as a cost, and I'm unsure if costs are prevented through immunity, too.)

A: Correct. Paying a cost is a player action not a card effect.

 

Q: Is the Claret Knight's Response ever usable? (It's a triggered effect, and he's immune to such effects due to his passive ability. Erratum?)

A: A card can never be immune to its own effect.

 

Q: Station Eismitte will prevent a Reckless Elder Thing from wounding itself?

A: Reckless Elder thing would be wounded

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a question. Does Station Eismette protect vs sacrifice effects, like from Cthulhu or Cthyla character?

 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Cthylla

Secret Spawn of Cthulhu
Type: Character Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 5 Skill: 5 Icons: (T)©(A)(A)
Game Text:
Ancient One.
Invulnerability. Villainous.
Action: Sacrifice a character to have each opponent sacrifice a character with a printed cost equal to or greater than the character you sacrificed. Limit once per phase.
Flavor Text: Should Cthulhu ever be destroyed, he will be reborn through Cthylla.
Set: SoK
Number: 45
Illustrator: Lin Bo

 

Cthulhu

Lord of R'lyeh
Type: Character Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 6 Skill: 8 Icons: (T)(T)©©(A)
Game Text:
Ancient One.
Villainous. Invulnerability.
Action: Pay 3 to force each opponent to choose and sacrifice a character.
Set: TWB
Number: 64
Illustrator: Jeff Himmelman

Edited by godnecro

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the key to find the answer is to check if the triggered character ability actually targets one of the characters protected by Station Eismitte.

 

Based on that, I think they are not protected from Cthylla's ability. Cthulhu's ability, however, requires you to choose a character, so because of Eismitte you cannot choose an Explorer or Scientist. Of course, if you have any character that is neither an Explorer or a Scientist, you'd have to choose that character.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question:

I have the card Station Eismitte in play. My opponent has the card Cthulhu and all my characters are Explorer and Scientist. If my opponent uses his Cthulhu's action, should I sacrifice a character?
And if instead of Cthulhu has Cthylla, what would happen?

 

Answer from Damon Stone:

Nothing happens. The owner is not able to choose/target them. If there are no legal targets to be chosen the effect cannot be triggered at all. Also those effects cannot resolve on a character who is immune to character abilities so even if targeting  was allowed they still could not be resolved on.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0