Sign in to follow this  
Sebastianne

The Leap from Player to GM

So - I've spent the morning searching the forums and getting tips on things, but have gotten no reassurance yet that I can pull this off yet, or any idea on how to truly start dreaming up the idea.

A quick background on me:    I've been playing with my gaming group for about 4-5 years now.  I totally <3 them!   My GM is probably the best I've ever seen and on three occasions now, he's talked me into a system, world or setting I was reluctant to try… only to have me fall so in love with it that  am contributing background stories, legends, rumors and whipping up websites and forums for our games.     This in turn has given him the idea that he'd really like me to try RUNNING a game…  I suppose it makes sense.   For as much as I can dream up on characters and extra tidbits, I can see the connection he'd make on wondering how I'd do at GM'ing.   Plus - he so wants a chance to /play/ every once in a while.   Over the last year, we've been playing Deathwatch and Rogue Trader, the latter of which I have been absolutely addicted to, so I want to keep the general setting the same since it is what I am most currently involved with.