Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
zealot12

Vampire Hunter-first ability clarification

Recommended Posts

After you encounter a space with instructions to draw 1 or more Adventure Cards and have drawn the required number of cards, you may investigate. To do so, discard 1 card on your space that is not an Enemy and draw one more card to replace it, which you must encounter.

From what I understand, this is more or less similar to the Prophetess' ability, except the Vampire Hunter can't discard Enemies.

What throws me off in the phrasing is the  requirement to draw cards for this ability to work and the  "discard one card on your space" clause. Why not say, discard one of the cards you drew., It seems that  with the ability  as written, it allows you to discard a card you haven't drawn on your current space.

Does that mean the VH can replace any one unwanted non-Enemy card on her space with another one she draws from the Adventure  deck?

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, just to provide an example.

The Vampire Hunter lands on the Hidden Valley space. There's a Maze on this space. She draws two additional cards, and encounters the Hag and the Storm.

She may discard any one of the three cards? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

zealot12 said:

So, just to provide an example.

The Vampire Hunter lands on the Hidden Valley space. There's a Maze on this space. She draws two additional cards, and encounters the Hag and the Storm.

She may discard any one of the three cards? 

Yes. After she draws those 2 cards in hidden valley, then she may investigate the 3 cards.

She may discard one of those cards, and draw a new one.

 

It's a mix between the Prophetess and the Philosopher's ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Velhart said:

 

zealot12 said:

 

So, just to provide an example.

The Vampire Hunter lands on the Hidden Valley space. There's a Maze on this space. She draws two additional cards, and encounters the Hag and the Storm.

She may discard any one of the three cards? 

 

 

Yes. After she draws those 2 cards in hidden valley, then she may investigate the 3 cards.

She may discard one of those cards, and draw a new one.

 

It's a mix between the Prophetess and the Philosopher's ability.

 

I wanted to say something but I discovered it was nonsense. Unfortunately I've been playing Black Industries edition a lot in the last months and I'm mixing up things. Cannot delete the post, sorry

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After you encounter a space with instructions to draw 1 or more Adventure Cards and have drawn the required number of cards, you may investigate. To do so, discard 1 card on your space that is not an Enemy and draw one more card to replace it, which you must encounter.

 

The key trigger point here is that she can only use her special ability on a Space with instructions to draw one or more adventure cards.  It is irrelevant if there are cards there or not.  the second part refers to having all cards required to be drawn in hand so that she can Investigate.

Velhart has it correct.

Of note is her third ability:

Whenever you visit the Graveyard, you may draw 1 Adventure Card instead of resolving the instructions on the space.

 

This is not a space with instructions to draw cards and so she cannot investigate as above.  The Graveyard is a powerful nexus of evil energy that even she is challenged by.  Consider that she is Good of alignment and would ordinarily lose a life, but through this ability can ignore the instructions to lose a life and instead draw a card thereby Investigating to an extent not normally possible.

She is one kewl kitten.  The Talisman version of Buffy.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Encountering a Space – Other Spaces


Characters must follow the instructions on the space if their
player chooses to encounter the space instead of encountering
another character. However, before they do, any Enemies in
the space must first be killed (see “Resolving Battles vs. Creatures”
on page 10) or evaded (see “Evading” on page 14). Any
Stranger or Place there must be visited and any gold, Objects,
and Followers may be taken.

The way I see it she would encounter any cards on the Graveyard first and then if she wasnt moved to another space or defeated in any combat then she could then resolve the Graveyard space by using her special ability to draw a card.

So to answer your question:-   Yes.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found this thread useful for a recent game, but what if she encounters spaces with Dragon cards, or if she encounters the Dragon scale and draws a Dragon card?

Since abilities that affect Adventure cards only apply to Dragon cards after they have been put on the board, does this mean she can only discard Dragon cards already on the board?

If she encounters the Dragon scale, can she discard the drawn card as if it's already put on the board, or must she encounter it because she's drawing the Dragon card and/or enountering the Dragon scale?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Encountering a Dragon Scale is not encountering a space, so Vampire Hunter cannot use her ability in that case.

 

If there are Dragon Cards on a space and Vampire Hunter encounters that space, she can surely use her ability to investigate. Faceup Dragon Cards are subject to special abilities affecting Adventure Cards as normal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, just to provide an example.

The Vampire Hunter lands on the Hidden Valley space. There's a Maze on this space. She draws two additional cards, and encounters the Hag and the Storm.

She may discard any one of the three cards? 

 

 

Yes, but as far as I understand it she must draw at least 1 card. So if she encountered the swamp on a 1 card draw space she cant discard it.

I think I may have figured out how the investigate should work.

Unfortunately, I think it's as Uvatha said.

You have to draw at least one Adventure Card, add it to the pile on your space and you may discard one and take a new one.

1) Let's say the Vampire Hunter lands on Woods with the Marsh already on it. She encounters it and that's all.

2) But, you land on the Ruins (draw 2 advanture cards), and there is only one - the Marsh.  You draw the second card and that makes a pile of 2 cards which you encounter. Now, all the conditions are met and you may discard one of those 2, and take a new one which you must encounter.

 

I was confused too but what persuaded me was the Philosopher's ability:

So, if you could discard a card that you land on using the investigation, It would be written this way.

 

A tip: Try to get Whiskers or Fiend Slayer or something that allows you always to draw one more card. Then you could investigate everywhere!

 

Edit 31st Oct 2016: Confirmed. It works like so in the digital edition. You can't discard alreade placed card only if you draw at least one more card on that space.

Edited by Alarin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...