Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
th3_greench

Vehicle Damage Table question and Cover roll

Recommended Posts

 I'll try to make this short and sweet: Cover rolls (Soft and Hard cover) only state that if you have Soft Cover your armor roll is treated to have +1 or +2 to the end results. It does not say anywhere about rolling LESS dice.

In the Vehicle Damage Table explanation, it says, "When a vehicle suffers one or more damage, but is not destroyed, the attacking player rolls a number of Combat damage dealt to the vehicle before the Armor roll. Cover reduces the damage dealt, and therefore reduces the number of dice rolled."


So, let's say I roll 3 hits against a vehicle. The vehicle is [somehow] in soft cover. The vehicle rolls 1 hit on his armor roll. He takes 1 less damage from the successful roll, and one less damage because his results gained +1 hit on his armor roll from the soft cover. Now, am I reading it correctly that I now roll the VDT roll (To check if the Vehicle suffers any handicaps), which would normally be 3 (The amount of hits I scored before the armor roll), however I can ONLY roll 2 dice now because the vehicle was in cover????? If so, this is only specific to the VDT and not cover rolls in general right? (As in, if I roll against someone in cover, they simply get +1 to their results, I don't roll one less attack dice right?)

 

Hope that makes sense, thanks in advance!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You will roll the full amount of damage on the table as long as at least 1 damage gets through so you will roll 3 on the table. They Essentially get a bonus to the armor roll you still hit him for 3 Damage.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You attack an enemy walker that is in a tree line (soft cover).

Your attack roll gets 3 hits.

Soft cover reduces 1 hit, 2 get through the trees and may do damage.

The enemy rolls his armor save and, luckily for you, only rolls 1 save.

The enemy takes 1 point of damage.

Vehicle Damage Table (VDT):

You rolled 3 hits, 1 is reduced by cover leaving you 2 dice to roll on the chart.

 

Any damage reduced by cover never made it to the vehicle. You do not roll any dice that were negated by cover on the VDT. 

Cover reduces damage before it is applied to the unit.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ItsUncertainWho said:

You attack an enemy walker that is in a tree line (soft cover).

Your attack roll gets 3 hits.

Soft cover reduces 1 hit, 2 get through the trees and may do damage.

The enemy rolls his armor save and, luckily for you, only rolls 1 save.

The enemy takes 1 point of damage.

Vehicle Damage Table (VDT):

You rolled 3 hits, 1 is reduced by cover leaving you 2 dice to roll on the chart.

 

Any damage reduced by cover never made it to the vehicle. You do not roll any dice that were negated by cover on the VDT. 

Cover reduces damage before it is applied to the unit.
 

 

So, I was right that it's a specific rule to VDT, and that when rolling to decide a VDT effect, I roll 1 less dice for soft cover, and 2 less dice for hard cover?? This ONLY applies to VDT rolls and not Attack Action rolls against cover on Soldiers or Vehicles?
 

I'm understanding it correctly now??? Thanks again guys! =]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...