Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
th3_greench

Cover, Line of Sight and Obscurity question

Recommended Posts

 My brother and I are trying to understand the rules of cover, but feel we are reading conflicting rules.

So, first off players decide how and when a unit is in cover based on the terrain you are using. Let's say example, we have a couple trees on a base. If a miniature's base at least touches the trees' base, it is in cover. Let's say they provide soft cover.

Now, soft cover gives you +1 hit result to your armor roll. Does the miniature ONLY gain the +1 result, or soft cover effect, IF an attacking miniature's Unit Leader cannot draw a line of sight from the center of his base to the target miniature's center of it's base, WITHOUT passing through the terrain? Is this what it means to the miniature if they are "in cover?" 

In other words, let's say the same defending miniature has his base touching the trees' base, and again is in cover. This time though, the attacking Unit Leader can draw a line clear as day to the defending miniature without passing through terrain. The defending miniature is "in cover" (Touching the base) but there is no obstruction in the line….does that mean he DOES NOT receive the benefits of cover? Therefore no +1 hit result to his armor roll?


Hope that makes sense……thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Okay…I think we WERE just reading too much into it.

If I understand correctly now, if the Unit Leader can draw an UNINTERRUPTED (Read: the line does not pass through ANY terrain) line from the center of his base to the center of the base of a target Unit's miniature, that miniature is NOT obscured, regardless of how close he is or touching the terrain base (Or whatever the players deem to be "in the terrain.")

So the books description of being "in terrain" I assume is only for reference of movement, and IGNORING the terrain if you are the ATTACKING Unit Leader in the terrain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...