Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
nexx2

The Wyrm Turns

4 posts in this topic

 If you kill Belthier i encounter 2, does he come back? When you kill him it doesn't say he comes back but under reinforcements it says to place him at the entrance. 

Help?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What the rules state under Reinforcements in Encounter 2 of The Wyrm Turns is, "If the overlord won Encounter 1, read the following aloud at the beginning of the second overlord turn: You hear labored breathing…and then Belthir steps into view in the valley, shaking his head. 'I'm sorry heroes,' he groans, 'I'm so sorry. He's too strong.' Then he raises his glaive and makes ready to attack you!

Place Belthir on the entrance. He is now one of the overlord's monsters and activates as normal during this encounter. 

So as I understand it, if the heroes won Encounter 1, Belthir doesn't appear at all in Encounter 2..?

What's confusing is that under "Monsters" at the beginning of Encounter 2, Belthir is listed there. However, under "Setup", it does state that Belthir is not placed during setup. Also under the "Monsters" heading, it is stated that Belthir may wield a relic during Encounter 2, but only if the overlord won Encounter 1. At first glance, it appeared to me that the only reward that the heroes gained from winning Encounter 1 was that Belthir didn't get to wield a relic. 

I guess what this all adds up to is that Belthir is never placed at all if the heroes won Encounter 1. Does this seem to other players who have done this encounter to be the correct interpretation? Thanks! 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know the answer to this?  If the overlord does not win in encounter 1, is belthir present for encounter 2?

 

What the rules state under Reinforcements in Encounter 2 of The Wyrm Turns is, "If the overlord won Encounter 1, read the following aloud at the beginning of the second overlord turn: You hear labored breathing…and then Belthir steps into view in the valley, shaking his head. 'I'm sorry heroes,' he groans, 'I'm so sorry. He's too strong.' Then he raises his glaive and makes ready to attack you!

Place Belthir on the entrance. He is now one of the overlord's monsters and activates as normal during this encounter. 

So as I understand it, if the heroes won Encounter 1, Belthir doesn't appear at all in Encounter 2..?

What's confusing is that under "Monsters" at the beginning of Encounter 2, Belthir is listed there. However, under "Setup", it does state that Belthir is not placed during setup. Also under the "Monsters" heading, it is stated that Belthir may wield a relic during Encounter 2, but only if the overlord won Encounter 1. At first glance, it appeared to me that the only reward that the heroes gained from winning Encounter 1 was that Belthir didn't get to wield a relic. 

I guess what this all adds up to is that Belthir is never placed at all if the heroes won Encounter 1. Does this seem to other players who have done this encounter to be the correct interpretation? Thanks! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0