Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
plolock

Army of Undeath - When/How do you use it?

Recommended Posts

 Does the zombie have to be on the map and be able to hit someone while doing so? Or to the Necromancer alone have to have line of sight? Can the skill be used even if the zombie is on the battlefield, but cannot perform an attack on anyone?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 The necromancer in my campaign just took this skill, so I've read the card recently:

From what I understand, you make an attack using your reanimate's dice pool instead of yours against every monster you have line of sight. Range does not matter, and your reanimate needs to at least be on the map. Nothing else about the reanimate matters other than its dice pool (for the attack) and the fact that it is somewhere on the board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Yeah well the issue is that it says "Perform an attack", and the Zombie is a melee hero, and it suggests that it has to be adjacent to another figure in order to perform that attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 No, It says perform an attack using the Reanimate's dice pool. This is a skill the necromancer uses (since you're spending fatigue and the Reanimate doesn't have fatigue) and so you use the necromancer's line of sight. The card also states that Range doesn't matter.

This is what you do in order:

- Is the reanimate on the map somewhere? Yes, you can use the spell.
- Do you have the amount of fatigue needed? Yes, cast away.
- Determine who is in line of sight
- Roll the Reanimate's dice
- Calculate damage, add surges
- Overlord defends each monster
- Necromancer can now use his/her other action

I'm hoping to get this for my necro. Spencer would love it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The necromancer’s ability “Army of death” (3xp) states:

“==>: Perform an attack with your Reanimate. This attack affects each monster in your line of sight, ignoring range; your Reanimate does not need line of sight to the affected monster but does need to be on the map.” Payment, 2 fatigue.

This means that your mage uses this ability in his turn, spending 1 action and 2 fatigue doing so. The attack targets, as stated, every monster withing the mage's line of sight, regardless of the range. The attack pool of the reanimate is used, with any additional dice (think of "vampiric blood" add 1 yellow die). And spend any rolles surges on the reanimates abilities. Monsters roll defense seperatly.

@Wrapped: Yes this is a very powerfull spell. But with 3xp to buy it, I don't think it's overpowered.

@plolock: To help understand the "ranged" attack instead of a "melee" one. See your mage cast a spell that awakens the undead, but instead of 1 undead reanimate to fully come out of the ground, underneath every monster, arms come out of the ground to attack these monsters and then retreat into the ground again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

JohnMill said:

@Wrapped: Yes this is a very powerfull spell. But with 3xp to buy it, I don't think it's overpowered.

 

 

Yeah, but think of this skill as 1 out of 4 skills that are added to a full group (with 4 heroes) after 3 quests played (wether the heroes lost or won these 3) compared to what the OL can do with the same 3 xp (he just spent 2 xp to buy the first 2 cards that are drawn 1/15 at best and is now saving up for his first level 2 card).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you don't spend any xp in the first 3 quests, your hero isn't very good. So then you'd have a really big chance of loosing these first quests and thereby giving the overlord: extra xp or relics.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Yeah, that's probably right.

 

Actually studying the development of the Reanimate is kind of interesting for the overlord when trying to anticipate what to expect from the heroes in the future since it cannot use items and in that way gets a very clean development curve. =)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1.When using Army of Death , can the necromancer recover a fatigue from surge ?(because it says " Perform an attack with your Reanimate" )

2.When using Army of Death , can the necromancer use valor tokens to add dmg ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I read it, the reanimate performs the attack. Therefore, the REANIMATE could use a valor token, the necromancer cannot. He could also not recover fatigue.

NOTE: If FFG were to rule that it is the necro performing the attack but just with the reanimate as a weapon of sorts, then it would be the opposite- necro valor but not reanimate valor, and yes surge recovery.

EDIT: The more I look through past discussions, the more the consensus seems to be that "army of death" is a reanimate attack, not a necromancer attack. This supports the first part of my answer, and suggests the note refers to a case that is not the reality.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Army of Undeath is the sole reason the necromancer qualifies as a playable class, it'd be downright horrible if it weren't for this skill.

This is one of those cases of an individual skill being so strong that the rest of the kit has to suck for the kit to be balanced. This particular skill is borderline ridiculous, but the rest of the necromancer stuff is horribly weak.

I tend to err on the side of the necromancer being a little bit underpowered even with this skill overall. I almost exclusively play overlord, to give you an idea of how I see this stuff.

And RAW, it is the reanimate making the attack, not the necromancer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...