Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Drac

Wyldside

Recommended Posts

Just another quick question for you fellas and ladies. If you have Wyldside in play, are you forced as the runner to draw two cards and a click every turn, or can you choose not to use the effect and keep your four clicks? Thanks for any clarity you can give.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothing about Wyldside is optional. You must sacrifice a click and draw two cards at the beginning of your turn. Plus, the only way to get rid of it is to use Aesops Pawn Shop.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Or getting tagged and convincing the corp to trash it…unlikely, though. However, when you have both Wyldside and Aesop's Pawnshop at the start of your turn, you get to choose which happens first, so you can trash Wyldside for Pawnshop before its effect happens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only time Wyldside is worth the bother (at least the only one I can think of) is when the corp deals a lot of damage in mid- or endgame. Especially if you don't have Pawnshop (and there's only one copy of it in core).

 

Correct me please if I'm mistaken.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wyldside is like getting to use Diesel every turn, why wouldn't you use it? Unlike the Corp, the Runner always wants to be drawing lots of cards. The Runner needs to get all her options out there ASAP and she always needs to keep her hand full.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just tonight played Anarch vs NBN and was a bit casual about brain damage. Drew Wyldside in midgame (maximum hand of three by that time) and didn't see any reason to play it. actually I just found it helpful to have sacrificed as a random card for damage…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Drac said:

 

Just another quick question for you fellas and ladies. If you have Wyldside in play, are you forced as the runner to draw two cards and a click every turn, or can you choose not to use the effect and keep your four clicks? Thanks for any clarity you can give.

 

 

 

Note the wording difference between Wyldside and Pawnshop. The latter card has "you may" in it, meaning it is optional, whereas Wyldside doesn't so you are forced to carry out the action as has been stated already.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What happens when because of Wyldside, the Runner decks out and can't draw? Does the Runner lose, similar to how the Corp loses if it can't do its mandatory draw when decked out?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Big Borg said:

What happens when because of Wyldside, the Runner decks out and can't draw? Does the Runner lose, similar to how the Corp loses if it can't do its mandatory draw when decked out?

Surely you'd think it'd come up in the rule book as a lose condition if that was the case. Given that there's no such rule in the rulebook the runner just stops drawing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say No that he does not lose the game as normaly drawing  a card is optional for the Runner.  Now I would say the card would not take effect as there are no cards to draw so the Runner would not lose the click but thats just me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, only the "draw" part would fail and the runner would still lose the click. This is why most players who run Wyldside also run Aesop's Pawnshop to get rid of it when it's no longer necessary.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...