Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Rottencat

Noise's ability

Recommended Posts

My question is about the wording.

 

"Whenever you install a Virus program the Corp trashes the top card of R&D."

I have played this as a face up discard from the deck and as a face down. Depending on who I playing against. I don't feel like having a rules debate during a game.

SO here is my question because I seem to find support for both face up and face down in the rules that apply… (I think) but this is not clear to me.

The rules on pg14 about Discard Phase would not apply because Noise's text does not say discard.

The rules on pg18 about Trashing Cards would not apply because the Trash cost was not paid.

The rules glossary on pg31 define "Trash: The act of moving a card to its owner's trash pile." Again doesn't help the question be answered.

The rules pg13 under installing cards say, "Trashed cards go to Archives faceup of they are rezzed, and facedown if they are unrezzed." But this is about installed unrezzed card. So does this apply to the top card of R&D?

Have I missed something in the rules that would solve this question?

If it seems like I am difficult about this it is because I have not found the an answer yet. SO if anyone has any thoughts on this lets get this solved.

 


Thanks for your time

 

Rottencat

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They go to Archives face down. Cards in R&D are inactive. Also that way the runner cannot see what the card is.And finally you are wrong saying that the rules on trashing do not apply as Noise's card says quite clearly on it "….trashes the top card of R&D"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My friend and I played a game, and this came up as well.  I do believe that the rule applies to all situations, not just regarding installed ICE.  It's just a somewhat misplaced, yet important rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...