Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Sturmkraehe63

Can Garven Dreis use his ability even when there are no focus results to spend his token on?

Recommended Posts

 I see. Arctic Snake: I would interpret that you can't spend the target lock since there are no dice to reroll. But if it ends up being ruled that you can spend a focus token to change no [focus] results, there's nothing stopping you from spending a target lock to reroll any of your zero dice.

At the risk of sounding like a broken roecord, spending a token when you're not doing anything just smacks of taking advantage of a loop hole to me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Budgernaut said:

At the risk of sounding like a broken roecord, spending a token when you're not doing anything just smacks of taking advantage of a loop hole to me.

This is my opinion… Some of these abilities have qualifiers that need to be met, negating a qualifier like this just doesn't seem the intent.  Otherwise I think the wording would have been different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 11

 

Spending a Focus Token:

 

If the attacker has a focus token, he may return it to the action token supply to change all (focus) results on the attack….. etc. etc.

 

This a phase issue and subject to the dice roll as far as i am concerned. 2.Roll attack dice.(blank, blank, damage) 3. Modify attack dice. (nada with a focus)

 

Focus is the only attack/defensive crossover. Isn't that enough? You need to be able to display your focus to use it. I think it is pretty straightforward. The rules could be a little more hard, but then we aren't looking for that are we?

 

I just don't want to have to go through another Jyhad/VTES card rulings change…… again!? Nooooooooooo!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

spending the target lock is fine. It does state you can reroll any number of dice. maybe you want to risk for a crit. Maybe you're just silly. Np, reroll. To spend the focus token tho i beleive the intent is that you had the aptitude to define your result. i.e. rolled/displayed the focus. you failed to achieve your intended result. focus is a double edged sword.

 

i like the fact the rules are easy. who wants a round to last an hour?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Son0fGun said:

Page 11

 

Spending a Focus Token:

 

If the attacker has a focus token, he may return it to the action token supply to change all (focus) results on the attack….. etc. etc.

 

This a phase issue and subject to the dice roll as far as i am concerned. 2.Roll attack dice.(blank, blank, damage) 3. Modify attack dice. (nada with a focus)

 

Focus is the only attack/defensive crossover. Isn't that enough? You need to be able to display your focus to use it. I think it is pretty straightforward. The rules could be a little more hard, but then we aren't looking for that are we?

 

I just don't want to have to go through another Jyhad/VTES card rulings change…… again!? Nooooooooooo!

 

Dude what are you talking about?  This thread is months old, and explicitly spelled out in the FAQ.  You can spend a focus token even if it changes nothing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...