Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
lsuedd2

Crit with shields

Recommended Posts

Say you get a hit and a crit, and you have two shields. Both shields will be taken away, but does the crit card take effect? Or is it played just like a normal hit face down?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LSUedd said:

Say you get a hit and a crit, and you have two shields. Both shields will be taken away, but does the crit card take effect? Or is it played just like a normal hit face down?

LSUedd said:

Say you get a hit and a crit, and you have two shields. Both shields will be taken away, but does the crit card take effect? Or is it played just like a normal hit face down?

The shields will take the hit (and critical hit).  After that, any critical hit will deal "face-up" damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Just to check my understanding (as this happened in a game last night!).

My X-Wing has one shield remaining when it takes one hit and one critical hit.

The normal hit is resolved first - it is stopped by the shield.  The critical hit is resolved next and a damage card is drawn and applied face-up to my ship.

Is that correct?

Or could I choose to resolve the critical hit first therefore having it stopped by the shield?

Cheers

Andy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ologotai said:

 Just to check my understanding (as this happened in a game last night!).

My X-Wing has one shield remaining when it takes one hit and one critical hit.

The normal hit is resolved first - it is stopped by the shield.  The critical hit is resolved next and a damage card is drawn and applied face-up to my ship.

Is that correct?

Or could I choose to resolve the critical hit first therefore having it stopped by the shield?

Cheers

Andy

This one I'm not sure on.  I'd have to go search to rules a bit more carefully.  Is there a line in there about order of dealing damage cards (in the case when there are no shields)?  If so, I'd use the same order for this.  But I don't remember any rule like that off the top of my head.  Probably a good one to send in to them for the FAQ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothing specific about that particular scenario involving shields.

However on page 16 under the Suffering Damage section it is stated that "the ship must suffer all normal damage before suffering any critical damage"

This is what I took to be the case even though a shield is being removed rather than the ship actually receiving a damage card.

How does/would everyone else play it?

Cheers

Andy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I think it's clear that you take the regular damage to shields. Just like you resolve regular hits with your green evade rolls before critical hits.

This makes the critical hits more likely to show up. They would be much more rare if you didn't do it this way. It keeps the game moving along and makes the combat more dangerous and unpredictable, which I think is good.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...