Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mustardayonnaiz

Stone skin

29 posts in this topic

Dam said:

You can't roll all the defense dice when you're rolling for the attack dice, simply because some surge effects (blast, fire breath) change the number of targets.

 

I would still say that this happens simultaneously in the sense that nothing can happen in between. You roll all the attack dice, resolve who rolls defense dice and then roll all defense dice in one "step". Skills etc could only be used before or after that step, never in between.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wrapped said:

Dam said:

 

You can't roll all the defense dice when you're rolling for the attack dice, simply because some surge effects (blast, fire breath) change the number of targets.

 

 

I would still say that this happens simultaneously in the sense that nothing can happen in between. You roll all the attack dice, resolve who rolls defense dice and then roll all defense dice in one "step". Skills etc could only be used before or after that step, never in between.

1. Declare Weapon and Target
2. Roll Dice
3. Check Range
4. Spend Surges
5. Deal Damage

Surges are a separate step from Roll Dice, so you are already past that step when Blast is triggered by a surge.  Does this mean that you do not allow the use of the Accurate skill or abilities that allow you to reroll dice?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I am pretty sure this issue is resolved, at least for me the OP

If my spirit speaker was not the initial target of the fire breath, because fire breath is added if a surge is rolled, then I would be able to use stone skin because i have yet to roll MY defense die. 

I was not the initial target, so no need to roll defense die, when the attack die were rolled. 

It would seem absurd if I had to use stoneskin to defend from an attack that I thought MIGHT be coming. This is why I asked the question. If I did use it what would stop the OL from not applying fire breath, therefore calling my bluff and making me exhaust stone skin and using a fatigue. 

That is why I also asked if the OL had to state his intention that he will use stone skin before he rolls attack die. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

mustardayonnaiz said:

 I am pretty sure this issue is resolved, at least for me the OP

If my spirit speaker was not the initial target of the fire breath, because fire breath is added if a surge is rolled, then I would be able to use stone skin because i have yet to roll MY defense die. 

I was not the initial target, so no need to roll defense die, when the attack die were rolled. 

It would seem absurd if I had to use stoneskin to defend from an attack that I thought MIGHT be coming. This is why I asked the question. If I did use it what would stop the OL from not applying fire breath, therefore calling my bluff and making me exhaust stone skin and using a fatigue. 

That is why I also asked if the OL had to state his intention that he will use stone skin before he rolls attack die. 

You play it exactly as I would. I think the intention of the card is that it has to be played before the affected hero rolls defense dice, not to limit its ability to be played in funky situations where they are a second target.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0