Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
player952845

Unique actions of monster question

Recommended Posts

hello, i have a question regarding unique actions of monster skill cf page 11 of the rules

Saying a monster has unique actions, does it mean it's a action specific to the monster or that the action( with attack action) can be use only one time in the monster turn?

For example, can mend be used 1 or 2 time in a turn with the same monster?

I'm french and I have some difficulty to understand the true meaning of unique.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the example you gave concerning "mend" each monster would be only be able to use that once per turn, because that is a by-product of an attack roll. You are spending a surge to use that. Unless he was frenzied. 

But in my understanding, something like "Heal" which the Master Flesh Moulder has, that is a "unique" ability that could be used twice in one turn if you don't attack or move. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unique to that monster; other monsters don't have access to it unless it appears on their card too.  If it allows an attack, that is normally limited to once per turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was the 'does a 'unique' attack (like 'Throw') constitute an attack' question answer in the FAQ?  I assumed an attack was using the dice shown on the creature sheet to **** someone.  If it's an ability that acts like an attack, it's an ablity, plain and simple.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, didn't see that in the FAQ.  Throw does not use the word attack, nor does it use the blue attack die -- it involves an attribute test.  AFAIK, throw away!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to be clear : "unique" means "specific", not "may be used only once per turn".
The question about one or two uses of an action is not related to the adjective "unique".

Je suis sûr que la version française rendra claire cette différence de sens entre les deux langues.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Triu said:

No, didn't see that in the FAQ.  Throw does not use the word attack, nor does it use the blue attack die -- it involves an attribute test.  AFAIK, throw away!

LOL, **** my failing memory.  Clearly Throw was a bad example.  What about Sweep?  If it uses the blue dice, it's an attack.  Is this an assumption or a ruling?  I'm kind of on the fence about this.  Attack is explicitly stated as being a specific action that rolls the dice shown, and we're also told creatures CANNOT 'attack' twice in a round (barring card use).  Some creatures have a unique ability that emulate an attack but often have additional benefits - but this isn't an 'Attack', this is 'Insert Unique Action Name Here'.  Part of my figures this was there just to boost these more powerful creatures.

But the other part of me thinks 'of course it's an attack'….

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

More of an assumption at this point.  Sweep tells you to perform an attack, but converts it to area-of-effect with multiple targets (like Blast).

"If any special action allows the monster to perform an attack, it counts as the monster’s one attack action for that activation."

I would say you can only do it once per turn.  There was a reply from FFG regarding Frenzy, implying that only a "normal" attack action was allowed.  That would mean a frenzied giant could make one Sweep, but the extra attack would need to be against a single target using the dice on the monster card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...