Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
player151926

Designer Series Rat Patrol Scenario Victory Points

Recommended Posts

Richard Berg wrote that Rat Patrol scenario looking very tricky for both sides. In our club we have a question about the victory points. The Germans get victory points for trucks leaving the map, the British get victory points for destroying trucks or preventing them to leave. Then it is written that the Britains win by having 6 victory ponits at the end of the game the Germans win by preventing this. If only  British victory points are decisive I don´t see the reason for Germans getting any Victory points. Or does it means that the British must have 6 victory points more then the Germans therfore Germans victory points are subtracted from the British one? 

Please execuse any errors. English is not my native language.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was about to ask exactly the same question when I saw your post.

Does anyone have an answer to this?

For now, I 'd play it as the British needing 6 more victory points than the Germans, but it would be nice to see some clarification on this.

It hasn't been covered in the errata (yet) either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Samurai Elb said:

The Germans get victory points for trucks leaving the map, the British get victory points for destroying trucks or preventing them to leave. Then it is written that the Britains win by having 6 victory ponits at the end of the game the Germans win by preventing this. If only  British victory points are decisive I don´t see the reason for Germans getting any Victory points. Or does it means that the British must have 6 victory points more then the Germans therfore Germans victory points are subtracted from the British one? 

As I don't have this, what is the maximum number of victory points the British could get in this scenario?  Depending on the wording, perhaps victory points for Germans just refers to the fact that getting the trucks off the map means the trucks can no longer provide victory points to the British.  I doubt that the wording implies the British need to have 6 more than the Germans.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are 6 German trucks.

Theoretically, the British could destroy 2 trucks (6 VP for the British), while the Germans exit the board with 4 (8 VP for the Germans). The question is: who wins in this case? If you take the victory objectives literally, that would be a British victory. But then there seems no point in granting the Germans VP's for exiting their trucks... Because under Objective it is stated:

The Germans receive 2 VP for every truck they exit the board from the blue shaded hex. (This sentence seems misconstrued, but probably "...every truck that exits..." is meant, or "...every truck they exit  from the board..." meaning the same).

The British receive 3 VP for every German truck they destroy and 1 VP for every German truck still on the map at game's end.

The British win if they have at least 6 VP at the end of Round 6.

The Germans win if the British have less than 6 VP at the end of Round 6.

So, taken literally, the German VP don't matter at all, because only the British VP are counted to determine victory. Getting 0 or 2 VP for exiting a truck doesn't make any difference for the Germans. If the British get 6 VP, the Germans lose. If the British get less than 6 VP, the Germans win.

So either the line granting the Germans 2 VP per exited truck should be omitted (as it makes no difference and is confusing), or it should be clearly stated how the German VP must be implemented (by subtracting them from the British VP perhaps, or by making the side with the most VP at the end of Round 6 the winner, or by stating that the British need 6 more VP than the Germans to win, or...)

It seems like a really cool scenario, but I think I'll wait to play it until this issue has been clarified. The scenario has already been errated though, but this problem was overlooked apparently...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw the answer to this from the scenario designer himself (Richard Berg) on boardgamegeek.com:

The German VP are subtracted from the British VP.

So, problem solved.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Emil 109 said:

In the first turn any British squad on a halftrack can capture the German Entry Point.

What happens in this situation?

 

A very boring game. So I suggest not doing this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...