Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Papa Guinness

A Biggs Darklighter Question

4 posts in this topic

 While playing a game a scenario arose where Biggs Darklighter's X-Wing was not in the firing arc of Darth Vader but  Horton Slam's Y-Wing was within the arc.  Biggs and Horton were within range one so according to Biggs' card : Other friendly ships at Range 1 cannot be targeted by attacks if attacker could target you instead.  My contention was that Vader could not shoot at Horton because he could target Biggs (via target lock) just not shoot at him.  Is my contention correct or am i over reading the card?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Target Lock is an action.  Biggs' card says "cannot be targeted by attacks if the attacker could target you instead".  They don't reuse the word attack the second time but that is the implication.  Step one of the combat phase is "Declare target" which says that it must be in range and inside the firing arc.

So since Vader can't declare Biggs as a target he's free to target Horton.  It's one of the good uses of a barrel roll if the roll will take Biggs out of your arc but leave another target within it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0