Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
AussieKSU

Few Rules Questions

Recommended Posts

Can Djinn be used to host non-breaker programs if the non-breakers are in play before djinn is played?

Does Femme Fatale have to beat the strength of the ice in order to bypass it?

Do effect that allow you to bypass ice (inside job, and femme fatale for example) get around the "when encountered" effects on ice. For example, does inside job get around losing 3 bits to toll booth?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

AussieKSU said:

Can Djinn be used to host non-breaker programs if the non-breakers are in play before djinn is played?

Does Femme Fatale have to beat the strength of the ice in order to bypass it?

Do effect that allow you to bypass ice (inside job, and femme fatale for example) get around the "when encountered" effects on ice. For example, does inside job get around losing 3 bits to toll booth?

 

 

1. No, the cards are already installed if they're in-play before Djinn is installed. You must install cards specifically on Djinn in order for Djinn to host them.

Page 22 under 'Hosting'

2. No. When you bypass a piece of ice, you never 'encounter' it. You don't have to match the strength of ice you never encounter since you're not interacting with them in any way.

3. Yes. Bypassing ice means you don't encounter it. 

Unfortunately I can't find anything in the rulebook that clarifies the term 'Bypass', but I feel like the term and intent are obvious enough that you won't be arguing with people over it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To avoid making another thread:

You have to equal or exceed the strength of the ice to be able to interact with it/its subroutines.  Does this include things like "spend one click to break one subroutine"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

redocelot said:

 

3. Yes. Bypassing ice means you don't encounter it. 

 

 

 

inside job reads:

" Bypass the first piece of ice encountered during this run. "

How can I bypass it if I don't encounter it then?

Once again, I think you are right, but I can't find anything in the rules to support this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

redocelot said:

2. … You don't have to match the strength of ice you never encounter since you're not interacting with them in any way.

 

That's how I read it, but I had a buddy kick up a stink about this, and I then went into when you have to match the ice's strength for a breaker to be able to effect it. I couldn't find anything in the book (or don't remember) anything that supports what you say here, although I think you are right. Any rules to quote on this to support?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cervantes3773 said:

You have to equal or exceed the strength of the ice to be able to interact with it/its subroutines.  Does this include things like "spend one click to break one subroutine"?

 

If you are talking about Ichi, or other ice that the runner can spend clicks to break routines, then no, you do not need to have a breaker match the ice's strength, as you the runner are paying clicks. A breaker is not interacting with the ice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

AussieKSU said:

Cervantes3773 said:

 

You have to equal or exceed the strength of the ice to be able to interact with it/its subroutines.  Does this include things like "spend one click to break one subroutine"?

 

 

 

If you are talking about Ichi, or other ice that the runner can spend clicks to break routines, then no, you do not need to have a breaker match the ice's strength, as you the runner are paying clicks. A breaker is not interacting with the ice.

Yay! We played it right! :)

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

AussieKSU said:

Cervantes3773 said:

 

You have to equal or exceed the strength of the ice to be able to interact with it/its subroutines.  Does this include things like "spend one click to break one subroutine"?

 

 

 

If you are talking about Ichi, or other ice that the runner can spend clicks to break routines, then no, you do not need to have a breaker match the ice's strength, as you the runner are paying clicks. A breaker is not interacting with the ice.

Are you sure about this?  From the way I read the rules, to use abilities on the card like "spend one click to break a subroutine" you must interact with the ice and therefore you must equal or exceed the strength.  Otherwise, I can't think of any reason to increase the strength of an icebreaker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You do not need an ice breaker to break subroutines on ichi.

 

The card reads:

"The Runner can spend [Click] to break any subroutine on Ichi 1.0."

Key word, "Runner".

 

An icebreaker is not interacting with ichi if you are spending clicks. 100 percent on this.

 

In fact, i think I just answered my Femme Fatale question. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You may be right, but right now I'm finding it hard to take that leap of faith that says there is text on any ice that the runner can access and use without first encountering the ice.  Just because a runner can use a click instead of a credit to break a subroutine doesn't by itself imply you have access to that ability without first encountering the ice with an icebreaker of equal or higher strength.  I find nothing in the rules that supports that interpretation. 

So unless you are in a position to make a ruling on FF's behalf  (which you may be as far as I know) I'm going to need a little more than your 100% certainty to assure me you are correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You encounter a piece of ICE whether or not you have any programs in play. Encountering ICE is not contingent on the runner having certain cards (i.e. icebreakers) in play. It is simply contingent on a) did the runner run on a server with ICE; and b) is the ICE rezzed? If those conditions are true, the runner will encounter that ICE, with or without his programs. Thus, because the ICE itself provides the mechanism by which you can break its subroutines, you do not need a breaker with equal strength.

Remember, icebreakers, not the runner, need strength equal to the ICE to interact with it. The runner can and will interact with the ICE whether he/she wants to or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For clarification, as it's getting a little overcomplicated:

Bypassing means you can ignore and circumvent the target instead of encountering the intended effect. Femme Fatale works in this manner as she's effectively charming her way through her target's subroutines by using her feminine wiles*. This is exclusive from breaking ICE in the normal fashion.

*yes it's just a bunch of code (but I love her dammit!)

The Haas-Bioroid ICE where you can spend clicks to break is mainly down to the fact that you're interacting with a sentient being. You could certainly hack and power through their electronic defences, as per usual, or the Runner can spend time outwitting/evading their opponent. Think like a gamer :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ZombiEd said:

You may be right, but right now I'm finding it hard to take that leap of faith that says there is text on any ice that the runner can access and use without first encountering the ice.  Just because a runner can use a click instead of a credit to break a subroutine doesn't by itself imply you have access to that ability without first encountering the ice with an icebreaker of equal or higher strength.  I find nothing in the rules that supports that interpretation. 

So unless you are in a position to make a ruling on FF's behalf  (which you may be as far as I know) I'm going to need a little more than your 100% certainty to assure me you are correct.

 

You don't even need any icebreaker's installed to bypass Haas Bioroid Ice, that's the point of the click interactions. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Treguard said:

Bypassing means you can ignore and circumvent the target instead of encountering the intended effect.

Read inside job one more time. It seems you both encounter the ice, and bypass it.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Treguard said:

For clarification, as it's getting a little overcomplicated:

Bypassing means you can ignore and circumvent the target instead of encountering the intended effect. Femme Fatale works in this manner as she's effectively charming her way through her target's subroutines by using her feminine wiles*.

I'm not sure this is the right interpretation, however I think it is the right end answer. Fatale states that the Runner may pay bits… Therefore, fatale does not need to equal the strength of the ice for this to take effect as she is not interacting with it, much like why the Runner can break routines on Ichi.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Inside Job is played.

You encounter the first piece of Rezzed ICE (let's call it a Tollboth).

You have two effects in play:
1) Runner: Bypass the first piece of ICE encountered

2) Corp: Make the Runner Pay 3 Credits

The Runner is the active player, and chooses the order of their pending effects first, in this case, to bypass the ICE.

As the Runner is no longer encountering the ICE, the Corp cannot enact the Toolbooth effect.

 

 

-=-=-

 

For Bioroid ICE:  A disadvantage of Bioroid ICE is that the Runner can spend a click to break any routine.  They can do this without any programs installed.  It is only if the Runner wants to break a Bioroid subroutine with an icebreaker that the icebreaker has to match strength in order to interact.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I think you are spot on with that. Thanks. I reread the order of effects section prior to your post, but was unsure if it was like the stack in M:tg, or if you choose the effect, it resolves, and you choose another effect, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

redocelot said:

No. When you bypass a piece of ice, you never 'encounter' it. You don't have to match the strength of ice you never encounter since you're not interacting with them in any way.

Sorry I'm late to the party, and this may have been covered already.  But I dont think this is right

The text on femme fatale is:  "When you encounter that ice, you may spend 1 [Credits] per subroutine on that ice to bypass it. "

So that is pretty clear to me.  You encounter it, but then you can pay to bypass it.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As was suggested a few posts back:

 

You do encounter the ice, however there are two effects which the Runner can choose to resolve:

 

ice effect - when you encounter Toll Booth, pay 3 credits… etc.

Femme Fatale - When you encounter… etc

Since you are the active player, you choose which effect to do first, logically femme's effect, which bypasses the ice. now that the ice is bypassed, you no longer need to asses the ice's effect.

 

A similiar situation which is detailed in the rules about the order of effects when the Runner has Wyldside and Pawnshop in play. It is not that both effects are on some stack, so that the Runner is forced to draw two cards. The runner may choose to asses Pawnshop's effect first, and then not have to assess Wyldside's.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does Femme Fatale break any ice? We noticed the first statement says SENTRY, but the last description says, "...any ice"! Why would they print the first statement, if it breaks any ice?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Femme Fatale doesn't break any ICE. It's secondary ability however allows you to BYPASS a single piece of ICE regardless of type. Bypassing is totally different to breaking, and this ability must be targeted to one specific piece of ICE in a server when Femme is installed.

As a point of order, the previous poster to you was incorrect with regards to timing. On-encounter abilities of runner cards will ALWAYS go active player first (usually runner barring some future cards). The active player chooses the order of resolution for HIS OWN cards abilities, then the other player chooses order of resolution for his effects. However ALL the active player effects resolve first. Therefore the runner CANNOT choose to pay three for tollbooth and then use Femme to bypass, even if they wanted to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What does the virus on Crypsis do? Is it only there to prevent Crypsis from being trashed?

 

Also am I reading the card correctly 1 credit equals one strength? So depending on how many credits I spend that is how strong that card is?

 

Finally, Corp gets a free draw at the start of each of their turns, but runners need to spend a click to draw a card?

 

Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What does the virus on Crypsis do? Is it only there to prevent Crypsis from being trashed?

 

Yes.

 

 

Also am I reading the card correctly 1 credit equals one strength? So depending on how many credits I spend that is how strong that card is?

 

Yes, you can use the paid ability that increases an icebreakers strength multiple times per encounter, and the strength will accumulate for the duration of the encounter. After passing that ice the strength of the icebreaker resets

 

Finally, Corp gets a free draw at the start of each of their turns, but runners need to spend a click to draw a card?

.

The corp has a mandatory draw at the beginning of their turn, and can spend a clicks during their turn to draw more cards. The runner has no mandatory draw, but also have the option the spend clicks to draw cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Femme Fatale is a Killer Program, meaning she can beat Sentry Ice.

 

Like her partner in Faction, Ninja, she can spend credits to increase her strength, and spend credits to beat Sentry subroutines.

 

But she has another special part of her, the one that occurs when she is installed. She gets to choose one installed piece of Ice and can spend 1 credit to bypass each of its subroutines, but that only applies to the ice she chose when she was installed regardless of what type it is (Sentry, Code Gate, Barrier, Trap, Mythic, etc).

 

Hope that helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Inside Job is played.

You encounter the first piece of Rezzed ICE (let's call it a Tollboth).

You have two effects in play:

1) Runner: Bypass the first piece of ICE encountered

2) Corp: Make the Runner Pay 3 Credits

The Runner is the active player, and chooses the order of their pending effects first, in this case, to bypass the ICE.

As the Runner is no longer encountering the ICE, the Corp cannot enact the Toolbooth effect.

 

 

This is the correct timing/order. It is important to remember that this is not MTG there is no stack. Therefore the runner gets to choose which things that "would" trigger, to address first. Choosing Fem first means that by paying X-credits the runner bypasses the currently encountered ICE. The game then looks at the run and determines no ICE is currently being encountered and the strcuture of a run dictates that the run can/must approach the next ICE. This also means that Fem avoids things like chum etc. because again the "when encountered" part of chums routine never gets a chance to trigger before it is bypasses. Though of course the runner could choose to trigger things before fem, but that would be a really bad idea.

 

 

 

Edited by Vonderbread

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×