Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Seblys

Pilots

Recommended Posts

I'm a bit confused about the Pilots rule.

I know Koshka is the only hero who can pilot grandma, the unit page makes that pretty clear.

But some of the other heroes say they are pilots and can pilot a vehicle other than aircraft. Does that mean they can just jump in any land based vehicle and pilot it or does the vehicle have to say it's pilotable? (which none do other than grandma)

 

Cheers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Not In Sample

Grand'ma lists heroic pilot: Koshka to tell you that only Koshka can pilot her.Just like Koshka says Pilot: Grand'ma meaning she can only pilot Grand'ma.. When it says Pilot: Vehicle (not aircraft) it means they can be the pilot of any vehicle as long as its not an aircraft…. so they can jump in a KV-47 walker but not the Grand'ma KV-47 because that specifically states only Koshka may pilot her.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But at the moment any hero who has the ability pilot (not aircraft) could jump in any of the walkers and take them for a spin?

 

Also, does a hero that is piloting a mech count as one or two units for rolling for command points in the initative phase?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seblys said:

But at the moment any hero who has the ability pilot (not aircraft) could jump in any of the walkers and take them for a spin?

 

Also, does a hero that is piloting a mech count as one or two units for rolling for command points in the initative phase?

  1. Correct. As long as it's not, "Hero Specific" like Gran'Ma and Red Cossack. 
  2. One unit. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shadow4ce said:

Also, does a hero that is piloting a mech count as one or two units for rolling for command points in the initative phase?

 

  1. One unit. 

Don't troops riding in a transport vehicle count if the vehicle is on the table? I'm curious about the reason for this answer… are you viewing the hero piloting the vehicle as "joining" the unit?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I also would have thought that the pilot and the walker count as a unit each.  Unless there's a rule somewhere that I missed, it seems to me that they would be two units, since the piloting rules are the same as passenger rules, except for the pilot special abilities.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

simpatikool said:

I can't figure out what is so great about Pilot. Your Hero jumps in a walker and can pilot it. What benefit is gained. Your Hero can't do anything now but sit in a walker? I definetly am missing something.

Several benefits:

1. The Hero is pretty much immune to small arms fire.

2. The Hero conveys their special ability to the vehicle aka Nikolai and "Pilot: Take Aim"

3. The Hero can get out of the vehicle if needed.

4. The Hero still counts as a separate unit for Orders and scoring purposes.

To a large degree how this helps you depends on you understanding the effects and taking advantage of them:

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey Thank you. I kept reading the Pilot special rule and feeling like I was missing something. I "expect" a piloted vehicle to perform better for instance.

The Vehicle only really benefits is a Pilot has a special ability that is shared, otherwise, not so much.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since this is a pilot-related thread, I might as well consolidate and ask.

Ok, so, I can have Red Yana in a Natasha (nasty as heck first strike ability btw. All-in-One Fighting Spirit with Grenade Weaponry FTW, crapped two V4 Walkers in two separate games, quite reliable). That much is clear.

What happens if/ when Red Yana decide to take a stroll outside the Nasty? E.g., Turn starts. Orders, Red Yana got ordered out of her Natasha. Unit Activation Phase -- Natasha and Red Yana activates separately?

Advance AI routine on the (Empty and Pilotless) Natasha?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...