Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Joe K.

Agenda and Asset

30 posts in this topic

glasswalkerx said:

Can u actually start a RS by placing Ice only and then placing an Agenda or Asset at a later time?

 

Think about it this way, all the remote servers are started at the beginning of a game. There are an infinite number of them extending from the play space. They're there, active and ready -- just empty. You can put whatever you want into or on them, in any order you please. Taking things out of them likewise doesn't deactive them.. they're there, just empty.

 

Mind you, you can only uninstall assets, agendas and upgrades when you're installing something new IN the server, and you can only uninstall ice when installing things ON the server. However, you can not remove ice when installing IN the server, and you can't muddle with the upgrades, agendas or assets when installing new ice ON the server. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anarchosyn said:

 

glasswalkerx said:

 

Can u actually start a RS by placing Ice only and then placing an Agenda or Asset at a later time?

 

 

 

Think about it this way, all the remote servers are started at the beginning of a game. There are an infinite number of them extending from the play space. They're there, active and ready -- just empty. You can put whatever you want into or on them, in any order you please. Taking things out of them likewise doesn't deactive them.. they're there, just empty.

 

Mind you, you can only uninstall assets, agendas and upgrades when you're installing something new IN the server, and you can only uninstall ice when installing things ON the server. However, you can not remove ice when installing IN the server, and you can't muddle with the upgrades, agendas or assets when installing new ice ON the server. 

 

 

 

No, this is off by quite a bit.  A data fort with nothing in it and nothing protecting it does not exist.  If the rules were interpreted as you have given then Bank job would be a much better card, as the runner could simply run on an empty fort.  There are an infinite number of slots available and once something is installed in any of those slots, that fort becomes active.  Also if everything is taken from a Remote Server, that data fort shuts back down. 

 

As an example, if a corp player plays a pad campaign with no ice protecting it, that data fort is now active and can be run on.  When/if the runner runs on this fort and pays to trash Pad campaign, there is no longer anything in that fort so it becomes inactive.   

 

Meanwhile, if a Corp player installs a PAD campaign behind a piece of ice and that PAD Campaign is trashed during a successful run, there is still a piece of ice protecting a Data fort, even though there's nothing in the data fort, so the runner can still run on this data fort, even though there's little to gain from a conventional run, but possibly has triggers off of runs that allow for other effects.

 

Edit: Changed an or to an and to avoid further confusion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

radiskull said:

 If you placed an agenda in a particular RS, you can no longer place an asset in that RS.  You could, however, place an asset in a different RS.  You can have multiple RS, each protected by its own ICE.

 

Technically, you can.   You just have to overwrite the agenda first.  This is often done when a corp has a nice big protected server, and puts an Asset in it to try and bluff the runner.  The runner tries to make a run on the server, and gets all the way through, spending all their money, etc, but then reveals something like an Adonis campaign, which they then dont have enough credits to trash.

On the corps next turn, they can trash the asset and place 'another card' into the server, which again could be either an asset or an agenda.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

glasswalkerx said:

Can u actually start a RS by placing Ice only and then placing an Agenda or Asset at a later time?

Yes!  In fact, it's generally wise to do so.  If you create an RS by just playing an agenda, it will be undefended by any ICE.  If the Runner makes a run against that server, he/she will just immediately access and score it.  Of course, you could try to bluff the runner and make him/her think it's a trap instead of an agenda….or bluff them with a REAL trap.  Ways within ways within ways……>:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0