Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
VaultDweller

Tourney championship. I think I saw a mistake with Cluster Missle upgrade or need rules clarify…

10 posts in this topic

 Started watching the full video of the GenCon tourney. On the Imperial players first attack with Vader he declared a secondary weapon attack with cluster missile and removed the target lock to make the attack. He rolled once, counted hits, and the rebel player took his next attack. Cluster missile says use target lock, discard the card, and attack TWICE. The rules say the text on the card in parantheses is required so that implies he needed to discard the card and possibly forgot the second attack.  

Am I understanding this correctly that upgrade cards that say discard are all one shot deals and the imperial player in this case just missed his second attack or is their some rule I'm missing?

Very cool video and please know this is not a rip on the players but I'm just asking for a clarification. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 And I got a little farther into the video and the X-Wing that was targeted by the cluster missile attack once ended up taking Vader out when it was his turn to attack.  The potentially missed second attack may have cost Vader his life and may have impacted the game very early on. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I missed the whoops with the cluster missles but the fact that he never restored Skywalker's shield kept bugging me even though that didn't greatly effect the game.

At one point in the game you hear the Imperial Player talking about how he was a bit burned out from playing all day so him making mistakes wasn't a big surprise.  And the interview with the winner included his mention that he had a grand total of one demo a year ago and 4hrs of practice in their hotel room the night before.  So same story.  Everybody was noobs and the rest of us are just wannabe noobs waiting for our preorders to ship. lengua.gif

-DavicusPrime

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DavicusPrime said:

I missed the whoops with the cluster missles but the fact that he never restored Skywalker's shield kept bugging me even though that didn't greatly effect the game.

At one point in the game you hear the Imperial Player talking about how he was a bit burned out from playing all day so him making mistakes wasn't a big surprise.  And the interview with the winner included his mention that he had a grand total of one demo a year ago and 4hrs of practice in their hotel room the night before.  So same story.  Everybody was noobs and the rest of us are just wannabe noobs waiting for our preorders to ship. lengua.gif

-DavicusPrime

 

Yes, wannabe here.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

R5Don4 said:

 Can't wait to be Noobing out too.

+1

Yeah the thing with Vader's missiles annoyed me a little.

Also anyone catch the thing with the second named xwing pilot's (whose name escapes me entirely) ability about shifting his focus token to another ship after spending it.  Well he shifted it to the Ywing but didn't spend it initially.  Is this right?  The player said it was OK because he rolled dice, but surely if you don't spend the token, like the card reads, then the effect doesn't take place.  Or is it just me?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nalydd said:

R5Don4 said:

 

 Can't wait to be Noobing out too.

 

 

+1

Yeah the thing with Vader's missiles annoyed me a little.

Also anyone catch the thing with the second named xwing pilot's (whose name escapes me entirely) ability about shifting his focus token to another ship after spending it.  Well he shifted it to the Ywing but didn't spend it initially.  Is this right?  The player said it was OK because he rolled dice, but surely if you don't spend the token, like the card reads, then the effect doesn't take place.  Or is it just me?

When he rolled his attack, he had a window where he could have spent the focus token, he did not spend it in that window.  He moved it after his opponent had rolled his defense dice.  So what he did was completely illegal.  And he did that after denying his opponent a static ability because he had already rolled his defense dice, on the same turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0