Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kufel2

Dices, ruler

17 posts in this topic

The dice are D8 (8 sided) with symbols to represent various results.  There are 3 red for attack and 3 green for defense.  The ruler is a strip of card that looks like a laser bolt divided into 3 sections for ranges 1, 2 and 3, each range I think is about 3-4 inches.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I believe the ruler is double sided with one side green and the other red to represent the different colors of lasers fired in Star Wars. It's really just for flavor and has no effect on gameplay.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I didn't see any indication that there were multiple types of ranges. I think it's just red for rebel and green for imperial (matching the laser canon fire from the movies).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wormiespice: That makes sense when considering the dice, but when would you ever need a range for defense? I can't find that in the rule book anywhere. The only times we know we measure range is for attacking, acquiring target locks, and for special abilities like Backstabber getting +1 attack dice at range 1 and Biggs forcing opponents to target him instead of an ally if he is in range of the enemy and the ally is within range 1 of Biggs. Biggs' range is the only instance that I can see as defensive.

So I'm not saying you're wrong, wormiespice, I'm just wondering in what other situations you'd use the ruler for defense. For me, I'm planning to use the red side for Rebel attacks and the green side for Imperial attacks because it's more thematic. The only thing that will stop me is if there's a valid reason for keeping red to attack and green to defense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nalydd said:

The dice are D8 (8 sided) with symbols to represent various results.  There are 3 red for attack and 3 green for defense.  The ruler is a strip of card that looks like a laser bolt divided into 3 sections for ranges 1, 2 and 3, each range I think is about 3-4 inches.

This is clear :D I'd like to know what symbols (with numbers) are there, and what is ruler length.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

kufel said:

Nalydd said:

 

The dice are D8 (8 sided) with symbols to represent various results.  There are 3 red for attack and 3 green for defense.  The ruler is a strip of card that looks like a laser bolt divided into 3 sections for ranges 1, 2 and 3, each range I think is about 3-4 inches.

 

 

This is clear :D I'd like to know what symbols (with numbers) are there, and what is ruler length.

As of yet, I don't think anyone is sure about exactly how long the ruler is (don't think it was in the rulebook, but I could be wrong) or the exact distribution of the dice symbols. We'll have to see when Thursday rolls around, unless FFG tells us more stuff about the components before then.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 there may be a reason to use the green for defence in later expansions , i just thought that it wuold have to do with the color f the dice being the same as the 2 colors on the range ruler .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 The green and red side of the rulers are shown to be used interchangeably for range measurements during attacks in the rule book.  As far as they are pictured, the ranges are the same lengths, so either side could work for attacks.  I'm also of the impression that color just adds flavor.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Just got my dice.

red die (attack dice) has three hits, one critical hit, and two focus faces.

green die (dodge dice) has three dodge and two focus faces.

So if your attack and dodge skill are the same on average you will still hit once.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Shoot, I forgot to actually measure the ruler, but I can tell you that speed 5 takes you approximately 2 range increments.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hrathen said:

 Just got my dice.

red die (attack dice) has three hits, one critical hit, and two focus faces.

green die (dodge dice) has three dodge and two focus faces.

So if your attack and dodge skill are the same on average you will still hit once.

red die:

3 hits PLUS 1 critical hit?

or

3 hits INCLUDING 1 critical hit

?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The ruler is 30cm long, each range segment is 10cm.

The box on the other hand is only 25cm on a side.

Straight movement is in 4cm increments which is the same measurement as the base side.  So he was correct in saying a move 5 is equal to range 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0