Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kiper32

Frozen spire

12 posts in this topic

Anyone else notice that ruin can make it across the bridge on the OL second turn per usual large monster movement?  We played that this quest did not use that and instead he was only able to move 1 true space instead of being able to reposition the figure over that space.  I believe this is what they intended in the quest.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

kiper32 said:

Anyone else notice that ruin can make it across the bridge on the OL second turn per usual large monster movement?  We played that this quest did not use that and instead he was only able to move 1 true space instead of being able to reposition the figure over that space.  I believe this is what they intended in the quest.

I have not played Frozen Spire, but I was looking at it in my quest book the other day, and I concluded the same thing.

I'm pretty sure that he is only meant to advance 1 square at a time, ignoring the normal large monster movement.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The special rules in the book say that Ruin's speed is one, only has one movement action, and can not be affected by dash.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ankou said:

The special rules in the book say that Ruin's speed is one, only has one movement action, and can not be affected by dash.

Pg.16: When the monster ends (or interrrupts) its movement, the overlord player places the large monster figure so that one of the spaces its base occupies includes the space where the monster ended its movement. The monster may change the orientation of its base relative to its starting position …"

The bolding above is mine. If you move a 2x3 dragon one square and rotate it towards the direction of movement, the forward edge of the dragon effectively moves 3 spaces. The special rules for Ruin don't allow you to change his orientation 90 degrees (because he needs to block the width of the bridge), but by the rules of LM movement you could expend one MP and reposition him to effectively advance 2 squares per turn. I agree that is against the spirit of the encounter, but it isn't really explicitly forbidden.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am constantly surprised by people's ability to brutalise the natural meaning of words with a strict literal reading of them, even with game mechanics. Though I agree its possible with a strict literal reading too, I think it goes against more than just the spirit of the encounter to try to argue that result.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a competitive game, not co-op, and people look for any advantage (or they are just rules lawyers).  I wouldn't play it that way, but the LM movement rules are written to explicitly allow that kind of movement.  People have already been debating the effects of that in the game generally.  The special rules for the encounter are not written to explicitly disallow it.  It seems to me like poor word choice in the quest book.  Languages, and people, are imperfect.  Just read some of the postings in this forum, or the illiterate "business" e-mails I get at work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Triu said:

 

This is a competitive game, not co-op, and people look for any advantage (or they are just rules lawyers).  I wouldn't play it that way, but the LM movement rules are written to explicitly allow that kind of movement.  People have already been debating the effects of that in the game generally.  The special rules for the encounter are not written to explicitly disallow it.  It seems to me like poor word choice in the quest book.  Languages, and people, are imperfect.  Just read some of the postings in this forum, or the illiterate "business" e-mails I get at work.

 

 

I agree that each side should play hard to win in a competitive game. But I don't agree that it means that its good thing for someone to try and squeeze a strict literal intepretation of a rule, when it is a blatant warping of the wording's natural meaning. That soon becomes a tedious and dull exercise which means everyone loses, even as competitors. 

In this case, the wording isn't poor as I believe the meaning is clear to almost anyone, even those who would argue the strict literal intepretation that you suggest.

Competitive play does not preclude players being reasonable to one another and acting in a way that maximises the fun for everyone. I see too many people losing sight of this fundamental requirement of gameplaying.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Triu said:

Just read some of the postings in this forum, or the illiterate "business" e-mails I get at work.


"Recieved a callf rom the suer saying that he is unable to connect to internet
infomred him to check the LAN cable he checked that however no luck
restarted the machine didnt worked"

How many spelling & grammar errors can you find?  Winner gets a free surge on their next attack roll.  

This one is actually not that bad … I can figure out what it means.  I once got a text saying "one down now" when I was waiting for someone to finish up some other tasks.  The sender complained when I didn't meet him right away, because he'd told me he was "on his way down".  The ones that look like someone sat on the keyboard are the best/worst, maybe followed by "user has a problem" or "<insert product name> isn't working".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We debated the whole movement thing as well, and concluded that Ruin should only move one square (one bridge segment) at a time, sideways.

One additional question, however, that we had was that it was not clear if Ruin could also attack any heroes adjacent to him.  We decided that the "intent" of the quest, was that Ruin only moved, and that the destruction of the bridge was his informal attack.

Now, we know it is dangerous to assume anything with FFG's games/rules/etc.  It certainly would not have taken much effort on their part to simply state "Ruin cannot attack".

We are curious how others played this quest.  Did you allow Ruin to attack when possible?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have the same question:  Can Ruin attack the Heroes?   (It's been two years since the last post, and still no answers)  My group hasn't played this quest yet, so I see the question popping up for us sooner or later. 

Ruin's Special Rules state "Ruin can perform only 1 move action per turn; he cannot be affected by DASH or be moved in any other way except to move 1 space per turn..."

 

I'd like to re-open this thread.  I'm on the fence.  It looks like he can perform 1 move action, instead of the usual two possible move actions, and still attack for his second action. Or can he only perform 1 action (move), and not attack?  The question still stands:  Can Ruin attack the Heroes or not???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have the same question:  Can Ruin attack the Heroes?   (It's been two years since the last post, and still no answers)  My group hasn't played this quest yet, so I see the question popping up for us sooner or later. 

Ruin's Special Rules state "Ruin can perform only 1 move action per turn; he cannot be affected by DASH or be moved in any other way except to move 1 space per turn..."

 

I'd like to re-open this thread.  I'm on the fence.  It looks like he can perform 1 move action, instead of the usual two possible move actions, and still attack for his second action. Or can he only perform 1 action (move), and not attack?  The question still stands:  Can Ruin attack the Heroes or not???

In the Unofficial FAQ, it looks like there's an answer from a long while ago that he can.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow!  I did not know that existed.  What a jackpot of information.  Thanks for pointing it out.

 

And BTW, in case anyone is still wondering,  Yes, Ruin can attack the Heroes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0