Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ffgMark

Post your questions for the first official FAQ

Recommended Posts

You are right, no arrows, but the Text is near the Runelock, and in the text on the left side is explained, what test you must do. The colour of the runelock is the only thing you don´t know, but this is not important for the test.

 

descent.jpg

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ogdred said:

In between encounters 1 and 2, are the heroes allowed to trade items with each other? I didn't see anything specifically prohibiting it (or specifically allowing it), so I thought I'd ask. I voted that they could, seeing as how they apparently have time to rest and regain fatigue.

 

Rule book p18 says between encounters the heroes do not regain fatigue or health. Read the section labeled Quests.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

oldtimer said:

Ogdred said:

 

In between encounters 1 and 2, are the heroes allowed to trade items with each other? I didn't see anything specifically prohibiting it (or specifically allowing it), so I thought I'd ask. I voted that they could, seeing as how they apparently have time to rest and regain fatigue.

 

 

 

Rule book p18 says between encounters the heroes do not regain fatigue or health. Read the section labeled Quests.

Check again.  They keep their damage, but remove all fatigue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

KristoffStark said:

oldtimer said:

 

Ogdred said:

 

In between encounters 1 and 2, are the heroes allowed to trade items with each other? I didn't see anything specifically prohibiting it (or specifically allowing it), so I thought I'd ask. I voted that they could, seeing as how they apparently have time to rest and regain fatigue.

 

 

 

Rule book p18 says between encounters the heroes do not regain fatigue or health. Read the section labeled Quests.

 

 

Check again.  They keep their damage, but remove all fatigue.

I stand corrected, sorry about that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have a Necromancer utilizing the Reanimate.  There is a Necromancer skill card called Dark Pact.  It states:

"Your Reanimate adds 1 additional brown die to its defense pool. Each time you suffer hearts, you may choose to have your Reanimate suffer all of the hearts instead.  Each time your Reanimate suffers hearts, you may choose to suffer all of the hearts instead".

This has raised a bit of debate amongst our players.  Say you have a hero whose full health is 8 hearts.  The Reanimate is 4 hearts.  You are attacked by the OL, who does 7 damage.  Can you apply all (it does say ALL on the card) 7 damage to the Reanimate, leaving yourself fully healthy, even though 4 hearts kills the Reanimate.

In other words, can the extra damage beyond the health of the Reanimate be wiped out this way, or does it then reflect back onto the hero, with the remaining 3 damage being applied to the hero?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This question deals with the hero Arvel Worldwalker.

Her Hero Ability states the following:

"When you fail an attribute test, you may reroll it.  Limit once per round".

When used specifically in a quest, our interpretation of a round is one hero turn, one OL turn.

How, however, does this apply when traveling prior to starting the quest?  If, for instance, you are traveling a distance of 4, resulting in 4 travel cards being selected, can she use her Hero Ability once per each travel card requiring an attribute check, or is it just once per travel period, or can she not use it at all while traveling?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 So a few questions:

1) It seems that when you use the curse to take over a player, they are considered a monster - I am assuming that the one wizard's ability to reduce damage applies to this as well? Also, if they are considered a monster, can you then play 'Rage' so they can attack twice?

 

2) There is a scenario with Ruin the dragon. Does the dragon attack at all? Also can you play the card on it that allows you to draw one card per figure in the group, but they get reduced by an action?

 

3) Does the party freely trade items between each other between quests?

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cyber_Urza said:

 So a few questions:

1) It seems that when you use the curse to take over a player, they are considered a monster - I am assuming that the one wizard's ability to reduce damage applies to this as well? Also, if they are considered a monster, can you then play 'Rage' so they can attack twice?

 

2) There is a scenario with Ruin the dragon. Does the dragon attack at all? Also can you play the card on it that allows you to draw one card per figure in the group, but they get reduced by an action?

 

3) Does the party freely trade items between each other between quests?

 

DISCLAIMER: I don't have the rule book in front of me so forgive me if I am wrong.

1) I don't think it says anywhere that they are treated as a monster. This means they would not have a damage reduction. This also means you could not play Frenzy as you are not "activating" a monster.

2) I have not seen this scenario yet so I do not know.

3) Yes. I believe this is stated in the rule book.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 
Here is my list as it stands (I use First Blood in a lot of my examples because it is a quest I think everyone is very familiar with regardless of whether a hero/ overlord would actually have enough experience to have access to a certain ability that early):

 

1.Can Rise again be used to keep objective monsters alive? Example: could I raise Mauler to extend First Blood by a turn (and possibly getting the last of the goblins through the exit)?

2. We all know that when an X is rolled on the blue dice, the attack is a miss and "all other effects are ignored". Is the same true for attacks that miss for any other reason (e.g. being out of range) or is this exclusive to the X - with the exception of being able to use surges to add range.

3. Issue 2. above is causing lots of arguments over the crossbow and its ability to move a monster 1 space with a surge - can this be used to move an out of range monster into range?

4. Can Defensive Training allow a hero to use a shield twice on the same attack?

5.Can figures attack while sharing a space with a friendly figure before moving on? Similarly is it possible for a player to interrupt another players movement (e.g. Attacking a monster using the Guard skill or Tahlia's heroic feat) while that figure is on the same space as a friendly figure?

6.Do range attacks still need to roll range to attack adjacent enemies or are they considered "melee" at point blank range?

7.Do melee attacks need to roll 3 range to hit stealth creatures?

8. Can the surge effect of Shield Smash be used to stun a different adjacent monster than the target of the attack? (e.g. If I am standing next to a kobold and a shadow dragon, can I attack the kobold and use my 1 surge to stun the dragon)?

9. If Jian Fairwood has 3 stamina remaining and takes 8 damage - how does her ability work? a) Does she lose up to 5 fatigue tokens and then the excess in hit points? b) lose up to 3 fatigue and then the excess in hit points or c) lose 3 fatigue and the rest is lost.

10.Tripwire states "Play this card when a hero enters an empty space during a move action". Pit Trap states "Play this card when a hero enters an empty space". Is it intentional that Tripwire can only be played when a hero is performing a move action and not when a hero is moving for any other reason (e.g. by spending fatigue, as part of a heroic feat or using a skill) while Pit Trap can be played any time a hero enters an empty space.

11.If a hero loses its last hit point to poison at the start of its turn, can it still use an action to stand up or does it's turn end as soon at it is knocked down?

12.Can a hero immediately spend fatigue gained from spending a surge to use an ability on that same attack (e.g. to power the Execute ability)?

13. Can the Overlord play the Reinforce card if someone is standing on the Blue or Green objectives in the Wyrm Turns E

14. If the overlord uses Reinforce during the Wyrm Rises E1 will the heroes be able to collect trophies from the new master monsters?

15.Are all named monsters treated like masters for the purposes of abilities? i.e. In first blood can Karnon use his heroic feat to instantly kill Mauler?

16.All the shenanigans with the Reanimate as have been mentioned 10, 000 times on this forum.

 

In addition to these Rules FAQ I have some errata questions:

1. Have the Ettin Cards been miss-printed with the Ettins losing 1 damage on a surge when they make the transition to the second act.

2. The elementals Air ability seems open to abuse in the following ways:

- In scenarios where the heroes need to kill all monsters the elemental can prolong the game indefinitely and allow the Overlord to cycle his Deck.
- Air elementals can steal objective/sit on objective markers and there is nothing the heroes can do about it.
- A single air elemental (or worse two air elementals back to back) in a corridor with monsters placed adjacent to the elementals makes an almost to completely (depending on the mix of heroes) impassible obstacle. Heroes are not able to shoot through the elementals to the monsters at the back (the elementals still block LoS) nor (depending on how point 5. above is ruled) can they run into the elemental, stop on its space to attack and run out again.

3. It seems harsh that in campaigns with fewer than four heroes, the heroes only get access to X+1 shop items instead of 5 as there is much less of a chance that any given shop item is useful to that particular team. (Their gold is already capped by limited search icons). Easily house ruled I know but still…

*edit* 4. Any way of setting up the Man who Would be king so that Splig does not get crushed in the first turn for a hero win - if the heroes have any stun or immobilize attacks (pretty likely on the final quest of the campaign) then Splig is dead, dead, dead.

5. The overlords card Reinforce effectiveness swings wildly between Quests - completely breaking some quests (the overlord will win) to being completely useless in other scenarios (there is absolutely no opportunity to play this card and the EXP is wasted). The scenarios where I have noticed issues are as follows - not First Blood and The Cardinals plight can probably be ignored as I can think of no way the overlord could have this card in his deck so early in the campaign.

First Blood - Overlord summons Goblins at the exit and moves them off to win the game.
The Cardinals Plight E1 - Overlord Summons Zombies on the graveyard and then moves them off the exit to win the game.
The Cardinals Plight E2 - Spawn a full compliment of zombies in the library on the first turn making the previous encounter pointless (and probably winning the game).
The Frozen Spire E2 - Summon any monsters on the Exit tile and win the game.
The Dawnblade E2 - spawn a shadow dragon on the entrance tile and win the game.
Enduring the Elements E2 - Resummoning the Master Elemental so the heroes have to go kill it all over again.
Gryvorn Unleashed E1 - If all the Lieutenants are present at the start then Reinforce is useless (no monster groups).
Gryvorn Unleashed E2 - Again there are no monster groups so the Reinforce card is completely useless. It's a little sad that the Warlord will not be able to use his best card for the whole finale.

While I would like to keep my opinions/ solutions on each of these questions to the Discussion threads, I will be a baddie and go through our house rule for Reinforce. Reinforce monsters are bound by the reinforce rules in the quest guide - so all goblins in First Blood would have to be placed on the entrance tile (essentially reinforce would let you play a whole pile of goblins at the start of your turn as well as the usual goblin at the end of the turn). If there are no reinforce rules for this quest then just use the rules on the card. We also use a judgement call to not allow monsters to be summoned into areas in which the overlord does not have normal access to - for instance it is impossible for the overlord to summon any monsters in the library of the cardinals plight until the door is opened by the heroes.

Finally - congratulations on a great game that has made the Descent series much more accessible to my game group!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When using Ancestor Spirits, can you combine it with Shared Pain or Healing Rain to target multiple enemies/heroes? Could I for example poison  each figure in one monster group if using Ancestor Spirits together with Shared Pain?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear Descent 2e players,

Can all non-FFG staff please STOP answering posts in this thread? It's a FAQ for a reason. If a player wants to discuss their question, please re-post outside this thread.

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Was it intended that Grey Ker should get two *full* turns due to his ability (i.e, with a refresh cards step and triggering "end of turn" effects such as removing Immobilise)?  This seems an absurdly powerful abuse of his ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is intended that a Disciple with Prayer of Peace, and Time of Need, can combo to be invincible from Melee characters? Using this method, you can get 1 other hero to stand next to you, to block a 2-width corridor, forever. And to give a specific case, where it all goes wrong, is The Frozen spire, part 2: If the overlord's reinforcements are non-reach melee monsters, the Disciple can stand next to a "Heavy Door" and the OL can never win. Solution? Errata?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quest2:CASTLE DAERION[Encounter2]

SETUP

Can Overlord place a master zombie in the Throne Room?

Reinforcements

Can Overlord place a master zombie in the  Laboratory while minion zombies are on the map beyond the group limits and no master zombie are on the map?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  1. Can Silhouette suffer fatigue for movement during her Feat to extend her free searching sprint? Can she spend fatigue gained MPs (Movement Points) saved from before she started her Feat?
  2. Stun says it restricts you "in your turn". When Syndrael uses her Feat can another Hero who is stunned perform a Move Action since it is not the stunned Hero's turn?
  3. Must fatigue MPs be spent as soon as they are gained individually (or in pairs for entering water)? Or can fatigue MPs be generated and saved through the turn to avoid stuns from Pit Traps?
  4. Does a successful Pit Trap always stun a hero moving with fatigue MPs?
  5. Can a figure wanting to enter water with 1 MP left from their first Move Action combine that MP with MPs from a second Move Action?
  6. An Overlord can play Tripwire and then Pit-Trap on a Hero entering a space. Would this combo stun a Hero in the first step of a movement action?
  7. Can a Nimble Wildlander move away from a large monster that expands into an adjacent space?
  8. Can a Guarding Knight attack a large monster that expands into an adjacent space?
  9. Does Shiver force a large monster to spend an extra MP if it wants to expand next to him?
  10. When Knight Guards a large monster as it moves past her does the monster "interrupt" it's movement and thus expand? Could a large monster gain extra movement distance out of this extra expansion? What if there is no room for the large monster to expand?
  11. When a Wildlander Nimbles in response to a large monster moving past him does the monster "interrupt" it's movement and thus expand?
  12. When a Thief Caltrops a large monster as it moves past her does the monster "interrupt" it's movement and thus expand?
  13. When a Hero moves a large monster 1 space (eg. with a Crossbow) does the hero perform the same "contract-move-expand" process as the Overlord follows?
  14. Can a Sneaky Thief shut or open a door outside their own turn?
  15. What happens to a large monster which, through no fault of the Overlord, finds it is impossible to expand at the end of it's movement. Nimble and maybe Caltrops could cause this.
  16. Can Shield Slam be used to stun the target of an attack if no damage is dealt?
  17. Can Shield Slam be used to stun a non-targeted figure if the attack dealt no damage to the target?
  18. Can Shield Slam be used to stun a non-targeted figure if the attack dealt no damage to that non-targetted figure?
  19. When a large monster interrupts it's movement it expands from it's "moving space". When it resumes can it contract to any of its spaces or only the space it expanded from?
  20. Does a Frenzy card allow a monster to exceed its limit of 1 Attack Action per turn?
  21. Does a Dash card allow a zombie to exceed its limit of 1 Movement Action per turn?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Chaos Beasts (Conversion Kit) have the Morph ability which reads:

"When this monster attacks, it uses the dice of a figure (overlord's choice) in its line of sight.  If a hero is chosen, the overlord may choose which of the hero's equipped weapons to use.  The monster cannot use any of the figure's other abilities, just the dice".

This raised several questions for us.

1) Assume that a Chaos Beast is using a hero's melee weapon (specifically the Iron BattleAxe - Act I Shop Item).  The dice rolled are Blue Red.  This weapon also provides a base Pierce 1, Surge: +2 Hearts, Surge: Pierce 1.  Can the Chaos Beast use the base Pierce 1, and activate any surge bonuses if a surge is rolled when the Blue Red dice are rolled, or can they only count the hearts which appear on the Blue Red dice?  In other words, when it states that the Chaos Beast cannot use any of the figure's other abilities, just the dice, are Pierce and utilized surges considered abilities?

2) Assume that a Chaos Beast does not have any other monsters in line of sight.  Further assume that the only hero in line of sight was smart enough during his turn to not leave himself with any equipped weapon.  What can the Chaos Beast use for an attack?  Can the Chaos Beast basically use the default attack of a fist attack, rolling just the Blue die?  Cannot it not attack at all?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All players are in Entrance next to 3x4 room filled with 2 dragons and door behind dragons. Tomble use his heroic feat and disappear and necromancer summons Reanimate in Tomble's place. No dragons were killed on heroes turn. Dragons were not able to kill anyone on OL turn. On next heroes turn they are also failed to kill at least one dragon. Where should Tomble appear?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Undying question: 

If I have a group limit of  0 Minion Ogre and 1 Master Ogre,  which have the undying ability.

When it dies, I replace it with a Minion ogre ignoring group limits.

Can I respawn a Master ogre on the next re-inforcement if the Minion Ogre is not dead?

And then, if the Master dies again, it mean I can replace it with another Minion over and over, creating an infinite loop of minion spawning…

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bleached Lizard said:

 Was it intended that Grey Ker should get two *full* turns due to his ability (i.e, with a refresh cards step and triggering "end of turn" effects such as removing Immobilise)?  This seems an absurdly powerful abuse of his ability.

That certainly isn't absurdly powerful in an expansion that features such absurdly powerful creatures as Giants. He's a better hero, but he also faces better creatures.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for your questions. Since the FAQ has been published and this thread has served its immediate purpose, it is being un-stickied and blocked. Should we begin considering a new version of the FAQ in the future, we will create a new thread.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Surges:

On an attack roll, can surges be spend to trigger Flesh Moulders mend ability, or Avric Albright's recover one wound ability, if an X (miss result) is rolled?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gambarle said:

Surges:

On an attack roll, can surges be spend to trigger Flesh Moulders mend ability, or Avric Albright's recover one wound ability, if an X (miss result) is rolled?

No.

Page 12: "If an X is rolled on the blue attack die, the attack is considered a miss and all other results are ignored."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...