Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ffgMark

Post your questions for the first official FAQ

Recommended Posts

The setup instructions on page 4 and 5 are done at the begining of a new game / standalone quest.  If the quest consists of two encounters, the rules on page 18 describe the transition between encounters of a two part quest.  The OL doesn't go through the setup steps again, nor do the heroes choose new heroes, classes, and skills between encounters.  If you are playing a campaign, the rules on pages 19 and 20 modify the setup rules used for a standalone quest.  Step 7 (Set Up Quest) makes it clear that you start with a new hand before each quest (not encounter).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Triu said:

The only timing / stacking rule I found doesn't address this explicitly. Since the OL is the current player, he has the right to decide the order to his advantage. Based on that, he could require you to state in advance of resolving the Guard whether you intend to use Caltrops.

"Pg.18: Timing conflicts may arise when two or more players wish to use an ability with the same triggering condition. In these situations, the current player (the player who is currently taking his turn) decides the order in which the abilities are resolved."

I would say that if the OL doesn't ask, and rolls his defense dice vs. the Guard, that he abdicates the right to challenge the order of abilities.  Since all equipped cards are played faceup, he should have seen it coming.  gui%C3%B1o.gif

It's trickier with OL cards on a player's turn, since those cards are hidden.  The current player could ask if anyone else wants to play a triggered ability before deciding the order (not much to decide if only one gets triggered).  Speak now or forever (at least for this trigger) hold your piece (or card).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bleached Lizard said:

 Are the surge abilities for Ettins in Act I and Act II correct?  It seems that they are the wrong way around.

Keep in mind that Act II Ettins also have an additional attack die.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here are my 2 questions (they may have been asked once before, too many to check)

  1. Does a hero have to equip items they've found from search cards or are they ready to use the turn they find them?
  2. If a hero(s) is clogging up the entrance/exit of a map and the overlord has a 2x2+ based monster to spawn, does the OL have to wait to spawn the monster until the area clears up or can he spawn it at the closest available spot to the entrance/exit. (This obviously only applies to quests that the OL must spawn monsters in the entrance/exit)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I've not played the quest "The Man who would be king" yet, but reading the first encounter makes me think that it is very easy for the heroes to kill Splig in their first turn. Also, I find the "Special Rules" section a bit strange…  Could it be that all the doors start opened in this scenario?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 The heroes have the option to recover 1 fatigue during an attack roll. Suppose an attacking hero with no fatigue available, he rolls two surges: can the hero regain a fatigue point during the attack in this way and then use it to activate one skill that requires one surge and one fatigue point (e.g. Runic Knowledge) in the same attack?

The rules state that surges can be used to activate skills and, in the next paragraph, they say that up to one unused surge can be used to recover one fatigue. I'm unsure if this implies a forced order (fatigue regaining is always the last surge spent after skill activations) or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Descent 1e, it was specifically forbidden to attack from the space containing another figure (e.g. you interrupt a move while floating within the space of another figure to attack a monster).

No where within the rules in Descent 2e is this strictly forbidden (nor, quite frankly does it say it is allowed).  Was this change an over sight, or was it an intentional change from 1e?

Should figures (heroes, monsters, NPCs, etc.) be allowed to move into/through a space containing a friendly figure, interrupt their movement, and attack from that space, as long as they can continue to complete their move and end in an empty space?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is explicit in the Large Monsters rules -- Page 16: "… if the monster cannot fit its entire base on the map, then it cannot end (or interrupt) its movement in that space."  I would assume that the same constraint applies to other figures, but they don't mention interrupts in the earlier movement rules.  
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are several events/triggers within Descent 2e which permits the overlord to place additional monsters on the board IGNORING GROUP LIMITS.  What is suppose to happen if in ignoring the group limits, you actually exceed the number of monsters for a particular type that came with the game?

Is this allowed?  If so, I assume we just utilize some marker to indicate the additional monster.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are several events/triggers within Descent 2e which permits the overlord to place additional monsters on the board IGNORING GROUP LIMITS.  What is suppose to happen if in ignoring the group limits, you actually exceed the number of monsters for a particular type that came with the game?

Is this allowed?  If so, I assume we just utilize some marker to indicate the additional monster.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

game is always limit to the amount of figuers and tokens you havewith the game, if not it's in the rules like fatig token and health token wher the rule state use any thing else if you dont have all you need.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ThAl3z said:

game is always limit to the amount of figuers and tokens you havewith the game, if not it's in the rules like fatig token and health token wher the rule state use any thing else if you dont have all you need.

I disagree.  The game is specifically telling you that you can ignore group limits.  If a monster group has 4 total pieces included with the game, and the group limit is 4, but you are permitted to exceed the group limit, then that directly states that I could be placing figures on the board in excess of the number of game pieces included.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In a two player game group limits limit large monsters to one minion. Are "named" minion monsters like Mauler and Ruin still considered minions for Karnon's Hero ability to instant kill? This ability makes him VERY powerful and makes for a VERY quick intro battle.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

shnar said:

Can the Necromancer activate his Reanimate familiar at the start of his turn, voluntarily destroy it, spend an action during his turn to create a new Reanimate familiar, and then activate this new Reanimate at the end of his turn?

-shnar

 

We had this same question.  I say based on the rules and how it talks about "each familiar" that a hero controls that this should be legal.  I would like to know this as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mr11 said:

shnar said:

 

Can the Necromancer activate his Reanimate familiar at the start of his turn, voluntarily destroy it, spend an action during his turn to create a new Reanimate familiar, and then activate this new Reanimate at the end of his turn?

-shnar

 

 

 

We had this same question.  I say based on the rules and how it talks about "each familiar" that a hero controls that this should be legal.  I would like to know this as well.

 

Well, the only way to voluntarily destroy it would be to attack it (you can't unsummon it). Why you'd want to waste one of your actions doing that is beyond me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wootersl said:

 

 

Well, the only way to voluntarily destroy it would be to attack it (you can't unsummon it). Why you'd want to waste one of your actions doing that is beyond me.

 

 

With some later skills, the Reanimate can end up doing more damage than the Necromancer, so trading an action for an additional Reanimate move and attack could be worthwhile. We will probably not allow this though, even if the rules don't specifically forbid it, it feels wrong.

I was under the impression that the Reanimate can be unsummoned/destroyed/removed at will, I thought I had read that somewhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jjcole said:

wootersl said:

Well, the only way to voluntarily destroy it would be to attack it (you can't unsummon it). Why you'd want to waste one of your actions doing that is beyond me.

With some later skills, the Reanimate can end up doing more damage than the Necromancer, so trading an action for an additional Reanimate move and attack could be worthwhile. We will probably not allow this though, even if the rules don't specifically forbid it, it feels wrong.

I was under the impression that the Reanimate can be unsummoned/destroyed/removed at will, I thought I had read that somewhere.

You are correct.  You can remove (unsummon if you will) the Reanimate at any time.  The card specifically reads:

"RAISE DEAD

Action: Place your Reanimate familiar token in a space adjacent to you.

You may only control 1 Reanimate at a time.  You may discard your Reanimate token at any time during your turn."

So, as many others have discussed, I have used my Necromancer to summon the Reanimate at the beginning of my turn for the cost of 1 Action and 1 Fatigue.  I have moved/attacked with the Reanimate.  I have voluntarily removed it from the map.  I have then spent my second Action and a second Fatigue to bring it back onto the map and move/attack with it.

Quite frankly, the Reanimate has done far more damage than my Hero.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

any2cards said:

jjcole said:

 

wootersl said:

Well, the only way to voluntarily destroy it would be to attack it (you can't unsummon it). Why you'd want to waste one of your actions doing that is beyond me.

With some later skills, the Reanimate can end up doing more damage than the Necromancer, so trading an action for an additional Reanimate move and attack could be worthwhile. We will probably not allow this though, even if the rules don't specifically forbid it, it feels wrong.

I was under the impression that the Reanimate can be unsummoned/destroyed/removed at will, I thought I had read that somewhere.

 

 

You are correct.  You can remove (unsummon if you will) the Reanimate at any time.  The card specifically reads:

"RAISE DEAD

Action: Place your Reanimate familiar token in a space adjacent to you.

You may only control 1 Reanimate at a time.  You may discard your Reanimate token at any time during your turn."

So, as many others have discussed, I have used my Necromancer to summon the Reanimate at the beginning of my turn for the cost of 1 Action and 1 Fatigue.  I have moved/attacked with the Reanimate.  I have voluntarily removed it from the map.  I have then spent my second Action and a second Fatigue to bring it back onto the map and move/attack with it.

Quite frankly, the Reanimate has done far more damage than my Hero.

This wouldn't work. You have to use your Reanimate's actions either before or after your hero's actions, not in between.

Also, this isn't stated clearly in the rules, but it also isn't stated otherwise, so I suppose it could go in the FAQ: The reanimate isn't an all-new unit just because you dismissed and re-summoned him. He doesn't get his two actions back just because he left the map for a while. It's the same as a hero who gets killed by a trap during their turn - even if a hero revives them in the same round they don't get their remaining actions back, and they definitely don't get another turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

any2cards said:

jjcole said:

 

wootersl said:

Well, the only way to voluntarily destroy it would be to attack it (you can't unsummon it). Why you'd want to waste one of your actions doing that is beyond me.

With some later skills, the Reanimate can end up doing more damage than the Necromancer, so trading an action for an additional Reanimate move and attack could be worthwhile. We will probably not allow this though, even if the rules don't specifically forbid it, it feels wrong.

I was under the impression that the Reanimate can be unsummoned/destroyed/removed at will, I thought I had read that somewhere.

 

 

You are correct.  You can remove (unsummon if you will) the Reanimate at any time.  The card specifically reads:

"RAISE DEAD

Action: Place your Reanimate familiar token in a space adjacent to you.

You may only control 1 Reanimate at a time.  You may discard your Reanimate token at any time during your turn."

So, as many others have discussed, I have used my Necromancer to summon the Reanimate at the beginning of my turn for the cost of 1 Action and 1 Fatigue.  I have moved/attacked with the Reanimate.  I have voluntarily removed it from the map.  I have then spent my second Action and a second Fatigue to bring it back onto the map and move/attack with it.

Quite frankly, the Reanimate has done far more damage than my Hero.

any2cards said:

jjcole said:

 

wootersl said:

Well, the only way to voluntarily destroy it would be to attack it (you can't unsummon it). Why you'd want to waste one of your actions doing that is beyond me.

With some later skills, the Reanimate can end up doing more damage than the Necromancer, so trading an action for an additional Reanimate move and attack could be worthwhile. We will probably not allow this though, even if the rules don't specifically forbid it, it feels wrong.

I was under the impression that the Reanimate can be unsummoned/destroyed/removed at will, I thought I had read that somewhere.

 

 

You are correct.  You can remove (unsummon if you will) the Reanimate at any time.  The card specifically reads:

"RAISE DEAD

Action: Place your Reanimate familiar token in a space adjacent to you.

You may only control 1 Reanimate at a time.  You may discard your Reanimate token at any time during your turn."

So, as many others have discussed, I have used my Necromancer to summon the Reanimate at the beginning of my turn for the cost of 1 Action and 1 Fatigue.  I have moved/attacked with the Reanimate.  I have voluntarily removed it from the map.  I have then spent my second Action and a second Fatigue to bring it back onto the map and move/attack with it.

Quite frankly, the Reanimate has done far more damage than my Hero.

 

I don't think the example you provide is legal. From the rules:

 

"Essentially, a hero player with a familiar must choose whether to activate his hero first or his familiar first. Regardless, both may be activated during his turn."

 

In your example, you are activating the Reanimate in the middle of your hero activation.

 

As for the original question I also think it is against the rules. My understanding is that, even if you dismiss it and summon it again, it is still the same "Familiar" and the rules say:

"A hero player may activate each familiar his hero controls once during his hero turn (either before or after resolving all of his hero’s actions)."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

rofl I bet you the guys at FFG are reading all these posts going, "Really? We thought these were really simple rules!" But you get these rules lawyers in here going "But, the comma isn't there, so I should be able to do it!" partido_risa.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hooliganj said:

any2cards said:

 

jjcole said:

 

wootersl said:

Well, the only way to voluntarily destroy it would be to attack it (you can't unsummon it). Why you'd want to waste one of your actions doing that is beyond me.

With some later skills, the Reanimate can end up doing more damage than the Necromancer, so trading an action for an additional Reanimate move and attack could be worthwhile. We will probably not allow this though, even if the rules don't specifically forbid it, it feels wrong.

I was under the impression that the Reanimate can be unsummoned/destroyed/removed at will, I thought I had read that somewhere.

 

 

You are correct.  You can remove (unsummon if you will) the Reanimate at any time.  The card specifically reads:

"RAISE DEAD

Action: Place your Reanimate familiar token in a space adjacent to you.

You may only control 1 Reanimate at a time.  You may discard your Reanimate token at any time during your turn."

So, as many others have discussed, I have used my Necromancer to summon the Reanimate at the beginning of my turn for the cost of 1 Action and 1 Fatigue.  I have moved/attacked with the Reanimate.  I have voluntarily removed it from the map.  I have then spent my second Action and a second Fatigue to bring it back onto the map and move/attack with it.

Quite frankly, the Reanimate has done far more damage than my Hero.

 

 

This wouldn't work. You have to use your Reanimate's actions either before or after your hero's actions, not in between.

Also, this isn't stated clearly in the rules, but it also isn't stated otherwise, so I suppose it could go in the FAQ: The reanimate isn't an all-new unit just because you dismissed and re-summoned him. He doesn't get his two actions back just because he left the map for a while. It's the same as a hero who gets killed by a trap during their turn - even if a hero revives them in the same round they don't get their remaining actions back, and they definitely don't get another turn.

I guess we will have to agree to disagree until there is an FAQ ruling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

any2cards said:

I guess we will have to agree to disagree until there is an FAQ ruling.

mcfl even quoted the rulebook. You can disagree if you want, but it isn't legal to activate a familiar in the middle of your hero's actions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×