Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ffgMark

Post your questions for the first official FAQ

Recommended Posts

mcfl said:

 How does the Leoric of the Book ability work? Is it applied before or after the defense? Does it affect damage obtained through surges?

 

1st case: Monster under the range of Leoric's ability rolls 3 damage; defending hero rolls 2 defense. Does the hero suffer 1 damage? Or no damage at all? In other words, does the minimum of 1 damage rule apply to the roll? or to the overall result of the attack?

 

2nd case: Monster under the range of Leoric's ability rolls 1 damage and 1 surge, defending hero rolls 0 defense. The monster can spend the surge to get +2 damage. Does the monster deal a total of 3 damage (Leoric's ability is applied before spending the surge and then the damage cannot be reduced below 1)? or a total of 2 damage? (Leoric's ability is applied after the surge has been spent).

also does it affect a monster even if the monster is not attacking Leoric e.g. attacking a different hero when Leoric is still 3 spaces away. and about the interlude act… the very first one, does the overlord win just by killing one hero? also what does it mean by when the overlord has 5 fatigue in his play area. what is his play area? and also when u are playing as overlord what does it mean to "refresh" cards, when the cards u are using always get discarded. or is it talking about the heroes?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 All reports seem to indicate that Castle Daerion Encounter 2 is horribly unbalanced in favour of the Overlord (due to the OL being able to so easily swarm Sir Palamon), and The Man Who Would Be King Encounter 1 is horribly unbalanced towards the heroes (because Splig starts so close to the heroes and cannot close the first door behind him).  Is this intentional?  If not, what should be done about it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RaidenSnake17 said:

mcfl said:

 

 How does the Leoric of the Book ability work? Is it applied before or after the defense? Does it affect damage obtained through surges?

 

1st case: Monster under the range of Leoric's ability rolls 3 damage; defending hero rolls 2 defense. Does the hero suffer 1 damage? Or no damage at all? In other words, does the minimum of 1 damage rule apply to the roll? or to the overall result of the attack?

 

2nd case: Monster under the range of Leoric's ability rolls 1 damage and 1 surge, defending hero rolls 0 defense. The monster can spend the surge to get +2 damage. Does the monster deal a total of 3 damage (Leoric's ability is applied before spending the surge and then the damage cannot be reduced below 1)? or a total of 2 damage? (Leoric's ability is applied after the surge has been spent).

 

 

also does it affect a monster even if the monster is not attacking Leoric e.g. attacking a different hero when Leoric is still 3 spaces away. and about the interlude act… the very first one, does the overlord win just by killing one hero? also what does it mean by when the overlord has 5 fatigue in his play area. what is his play area? and also when u are playing as overlord what does it mean to "refresh" cards, when the cards u are using always get discarded. or is it talking about the heroes?

I can answer some of these.

 Leoric 1st Case: It applies to the roll, so in the case the hero would suffer no damage.

2nd Case: Leoric's ability effects the die roll, not things added with surges (so far as I can read), so it would do 3 damage.

There is no reason it would not affect a monster that is not attacking Leoric.

The Overlord's "play area" is a vague space somewhere in front of the Overlord players.  Some Quests (like First Blood) have the Overlord place fatigue tokens in his play are to track his accomplishment of objectives (in First Blood, to track how many Goblins have escaped, since the modes can be reinforced).  In this case, the fatigue tokens are just counters.

The "refresh cards" phase in the Overlords turn does refer to the Overlord's cards, and is important for Overlords once they have at least one Relic (which may exhaust to activate).  Before that, it doesn't do anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Does 'howl' affect a reanimate?

What is the timing of combat? What order are actions taken? After an attack roll and the OL plays a card giving himself a surge can the play than use his shield to reroll defense dice?

When playing death on the wing encounter two, the heroes defeated Belthir on turn 1, is this intentional?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How does OL card Word of Misery work with Jain Fairwoods ability? If Jain can suffer all damage as fatique does she still suffer an extra fatique from Word of Misery?

Can OL use monster abilities on NPCs? If he can what happens when Sir Alaric Farrow uses overpower on Sir Palamon (in Castle Daerion) does he gain fatique or take damage?

How much information does the OL have to give on a quest? When and how he can reinforce? If special search token is used does he have to tell where it can't be?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 In the second encounter in 'Death on the Wing' once the guards have been activated by having a hero or monster on the same tile, should they continue to activate at the end of the heroes' turns, or do they only activate while there is a monster or hero on the same tile as them, but not if the hero/monster moves off the tile?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Izuris said:

How does OL card Word of Misery work with Jain Fairwoods ability? If Jain can suffer all damage as fatique does she still suffer an extra fatique from Word of Misery?

Can OL use monster abilities on NPCs? If he can what happens when Sir Alaric Farrow uses overpower on Sir Palamon (in Castle Daerion) does he gain fatique or take damage?

How much information does the OL have to give on a quest? When and how he can reinforce? If special search token is used does he have to tell where it can't be?


 

I would say all of these can be answered with the information available.

1) Yes.  Either she leaves one Stamina when converting damage, or if she exhausts her Stamina the fatigue is converted to damage.  The net effect is the same.

"you may choose to suffer some or all of that amount as [fatigue] instead; you cannot suffer [fatigue] in excess of your Stamina."
"If any other game effect forces a hero to suffer fatigue in excess of his Stamina, he instead suffers damage"

2) This one is slightly unclear, but I would say yes, and Sir Palamon takes damage.  It says to treat him as a hero, but he has no listed Stamina.  He uses fatigue tokens to track a victory condition.  I would assume his Stamina is zero, as explicitly listed for some other NPCs.  Both monsters & heroes take fatigue as damage in the absence of available Stamina.

3) "These quests are all written with the assumption that all players know all the rules and victory conditions -- in short, unless noted, none of the information is secret."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ThAl3z said:

what happens to a reanimate when controller is knockdown.

1. is it remove as it's a summon

2. can he/she activate it in ther turn ( i say no as he/she is  down and only can stand up.)

 

 

Does Widow Tarha's re-roll ability apply to the reanimate attacks as well?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Helkor said:

1) Is a Reanimate considered a Hero?

If not, Can it attack a Shadow Dragon without using a surge? Shadow Dragon states that "a hero adjacent to this monster declears an attack must spend 1 surge or the attack is considered a miss."

A Reanimate works as a monster and is not defined as a hero.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Just a couple of questions from our first play through last night:

Within: when an ability refers to targeting something 'within' x squares of a player, i.e. greedy, can that square be through doors or other things that would generally block movement.

Can tom's movement feat allow him to go through locked doors?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Two movement questions:

1) Echo of someone else's question, if a hero spends 3 fatigue to gain movement points and then moves, are they doing a 3-point move or 3 one-point moves?

2) In the rulebook under movement, it says, "A hero may also decide to perform two move actions consecutively, in which case the hero receives movement points equal to twice his Speed."  Is this really saying that a hero with Speed 5 is doing a 10-point move that consumes 2 actions rather than two 5-point move actions?  The distinction is critical when the hero has no legal space to stop in at the end of a 5-point move action.  It also affects how several OL trap cards would work.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can hero abilities (that don't exhaust or flip) be used multiple times per trigger condition?  For example, can Ghost Armor's ability be used three times during a single attack by spending three fatigue?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are walls like doors in that they block adjacency between two orthogonal spaces, block line of sight, and block adjacency for the purpose of Counting Spaces (page 13)? IOW, are the following statements true?

1) Figures cannot move or trace line of sight through doors or walls. Spaces separated by a door or wall are not considered to be adjacent.

2) If the line [of sight] passes through the edge of a map tile, a door, a wall, or a blocked space (a space containing a figure or obstacle), the target space is not in line of sight (see “Line of Sight Example” on page 12).

3) However, when counting spaces for an ability, players cannot count spaces through a door or wall because the spaces are not considered adjacent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

shnar said:

 

When an NPC suffers fatigue (for example, Cardinal Koth attacked after Word of Misery is played), since he has not fatigue at all, does he suffer wounds instead (following normal Hero rules if they have already suffered max fatigue)?

 

 

From the rules pg 13 "Since monsters do not have a Stamina value, if a monster suffers any
amount of fatigue, it suffers that amount of damage instead."

shnar said:

 

When a large monster 'interrupts' his movement, to say Open A Door or Make An Attack, does he need to be fully placed on the map on empty spaces? Or can he temporarily stand on a friendly figure, perform his attack, and move off ending his movement on an area with empty spaces?

 

 

From the rules pg 16 "The monster may change the orientation of its base relative
to its starting position, but if the monster cannot fit its entire base on the
map, then it cannot end (or interrupt) its movement in that space."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 The card for "Immobilize" states that you cannot take movement actions nor can you spend fatigue to gain movement points.

Question:  Can you utilize Skill Cards which grant movement, in order to still reposition yourself while "immobilized"  eg. Oath of Honor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Typo Question:

Is the Ettin Surge effect misprinted/switched between the Act II version and the Act I version (the Act I version is stronger than the Act II version)

Similarly, is the Shield Relic misnamed (the dark version has the light name, and vice versa)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A more detailed breakdown of how triggering conditions work is needed.  A few examples

Can I use a card to respond multiple times to a trigger? Example: Use Ghost Armor 3 times  (spending 3 fatigue) to add 3 shields. 

Is their a stack or must all responses be declared immediately?  For example if a monster moves next to two heroes on the same move one of whom has guard and the other caltrops can I wait to declare the caltrops until after guard is resolved or must I immedietely declare it and pay the fatigue cost.

Shields & Defensive Training:  Can I use a shield to respond to rolling defense dice, exhaust defensive training instead of the shield and then exhaust the shield (so for a wooden shield add 2 shields to the result).  If there is no stack and you can't add two shields can you respond to a reroll as if it was the original defense dice roll.  So use a shield to force a reroll and exhaust defensive training instead of the shield and then exhaust the shield in response to the reroll to force a 2nd reroll or add one shield.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the quest Castle Daerion, the OL begins the quest, during setup, placing 2 open monster groups on the map.  1 group goes on the River's Edge tile, on 1 group goes on the Cabin tile.  Due to the nature and shape of the cabin tile, there are 4 squares of the cabin tile OUTSIDE of the placement of the door.

Is it the intent of the quest to permit the OL to place monsters within these 4 squares, essentially outside of the room that defines the "Cabin" (even though those 4 squares are attached to the tile that is called the Cabin)".

It seems to our hero players that this violates the "spirit" or "intent" of the quest (although making this assumption about anything FFG creates is very dangerous).

It does essentially give the OL immediate, unfettered access to two villagers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Stealthy" monster ability (Conversion kit only): Each attack that targets this monster must roll 3 additional range beyond the normally required amount or the attack is a miss.

How does this interact with melee heroes?  I see three possible interpretations:

-Melee attacks ignore range, so this ability does not affect them at all.  Effectively, Stealthy only affects attacks from ranged weapons.

-Melee attacks do not require range, so "3 additional range" means the attack needs 3 range total.  If the attack only gets 2 range, it's a miss.

-Melee attacks require 1 range (2 for reach), but it's not possible to roll less than that so it's ignored.  Stealthy increases the range by 3, so a melee attack needs 4 range (5 for reach) to hit a stealthy figure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ratcur said:

A more detailed breakdown of how triggering conditions work is needed. A few examples

 

Can I use a card to respond multiple times to a trigger? Example: Use Ghost Armor 3 times (spending 3 fatigue) to add 3 shields.

Is their a stack or must all responses be declared immediately? For example if a monster moves next to two heroes on the same move one of whom has guard and the other caltrops can I wait to declare the caltrops until after guard is resolved or must I immedietely declare it and pay the fatigue cost.

Shields & Defensive Training: Can I use a shield to respond to rolling defense dice, exhaust defensive training instead of the shield and then exhaust the shield (so for a wooden shield add 2 shields to the result). If there is no stack and you can't add two shields can you respond to a reroll as if it was the original defense dice roll. So use a shield to force a reroll and exhaust defensive training instead of the shield and then exhaust the shield in response to the reroll to force a 2nd reroll or add one shield. 

Good questions. You may have already come up with rulings, but here's my take. You are not required to exhaust Ghost Armor, so I'd treat it like movement points -- as long as you have the fatigue to spend, go for it.

The only timing / stacking rule I found doesn't address this explicitly. Since the OL is the current player, he has the right to decide the order to his advantage. Based on that, he could require you to state in advance of resolving the Guard whether you intend to use Caltrops.

"Pg.18: Timing conflicts may arise when two or more players wish to use an ability with the same triggering condition. In these situations, the current player (the player who is currently taking his turn) decides the order in which the abilities are resolved. "

Since the shield itself is not exhausted, I can't see an argument against any of those interpretations -- 2 shields, 2 rerolls, or one of each.

HellBoundOL said:

When a monster is on a search token can heroes still search an receive Searc cards? even if a monster occupies the space??
The people who believe Search is movement based would probably say no (see Greedy thread). Those who believe it's proximity based would probably say yes.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This question concerns the OL's hand of cards and how it is addressed.

During the travel phase of getting to a location, the OL draws his initial 4 cards for Encounter 1 of a quest.  Between encounters (after 1 is done and before the 2nd part begins), does the OL draw 4 more cards?

In the rules there is the following:

Pgae 18: The OL player keeps his current hand of overlord cards.

Page 4-5: OL Setup: Point 4: Draw OL cards: The OL player draws a number of OL cards equal to the number of heros INTO his hand.

So, does this mean the OL gets to start Encounter 2 of a quest with all of the cards in his hand from the end of Encounter 1, plus drawing 4 more cards at the start of Encounter 2?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×