Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Underworld40k

Bran Stark VD version

8 posts in this topic

 Just a quick question, the latest version of bran reads 'kneel a direwolf to stand bran stark. Then bran stark gains (choose 1) a military icon, stealth or deadly until the end of the phase.

If bran becomes a direwolf is he a valid target for his own ability FROM STANDING. ie, bran is standing, can i kneel him  to stand him and gain 1 effect of my choice and repeate till he has all 3?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Yeah actually. You kneel Bran during step 1 as a cost. By the time you get to step 3 he is already kneeling and stands. Epic!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Underworld40k said:

If bran becomes a direwolf is he a valid target for his own ability FROM STANDING. ie, bran is standing, can i kneel him  to stand him and gain 1 effect of my choice and repeate till he has all 3?
To nitpick terminology here: he is not "a valid target" because his ability has no target.

The effect of kneeling him to pay the cost for standing him is all true, though. It's actually very thematic (although unintendedly so, I would bet), imho. Bran "becomes" a direwolf, and is suddenly able to do a whole lot more than he can when he is a boy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ktom said:

Underworld40k said:

If bran becomes a direwolf is he a valid target for his own ability FROM STANDING. ie, bran is standing, can i kneel him  to stand him and gain 1 effect of my choice and repeate till he has all 3?

To nitpick terminology here: he is not "a valid target" because his ability has no target.

 

The effect of kneeling him to pay the cost for standing him is all true, though. It's actually very thematic (although unintendedly so, I would bet), imho. Bran "becomes" a direwolf, and is suddenly able to do a whole lot more than he can when he is a boy.

Amongst the Nedliest of effects, for sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is this still true with FAQ (3.6) Triggered Effects:

 

[…]

In order to trigger an effect, the possibility that 

at least some independent aspect of the effect 
(as opposed to the cost) is able to resolve 
must exist. If, given the current game state it 
is impossible (aside from cancels) for at least 
one aspect of the effect to resolve, the effect 
cannot be triggered. This check is made during 
step "b" of an action's initiation, when all play 
restrictions are checked.
[…]
 
My interpretation would be, that during step "b", checking for play restrictions, Bran is still standing.
Meaning it is not allowed to be triggered, as the cost to kneel Bran is only implemented at step "e".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0