Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Etna''s Vassal

Regroup Removing Reaction Markers- Am I Missing Something?

Recommended Posts

So, a friend and I were discussing the rules today, and we're both confused by something. What is the point of the removal of reaction markers when a unit regroups? Am I missing a way for a unit to gain multiple reaction markers? Wouldn't the reaction marker on the unit already have gone away?

I guess this isn't so much a critical needs-to-be-answered-so-we-can-play-the-game kind of question, but this one's really got us stumped.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 If your opponent is the initiating player and destroys one of your transports carrying a squad in his or her command phase, the squad bails out and gets a Reaction Marker. 

 
Page 54 of the rulebook, Carry Capacity Special Ability…
 
"If a transport is destroyed, any embarked units immediately disembark and gain a Reaction marker."
 
It's pretty rare, but it happens. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Etna''s Vassal said:

So, a friend and I were discussing the rules today, and we're both confused by something. What is the point of the removal of reaction markers when a unit regroups? Am I missing a way for a unit to gain multiple reaction markers? Wouldn't the reaction marker on the unit already have gone away?

I guess this isn't so much a critical needs-to-be-answered-so-we-can-play-the-game kind of question, but this one's really got us stumped.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

If a vehicle with the Carry Capacity ability is transporting models and gets destroyed the troops inside automatically disembark and receive a reaction marker. It is possible for this to happen in the command phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

as a further addition to this thread regarding Regrouping during the Command Phase,

this does not place a Reaction marker on the Unit that is being "regrouped", right?

so does this mean that if  you had enough Command points, then you could issue an action to the same Unit that just regrouped?

 

thx,

Les

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

never mind.  just found the answer.  only 1 order can be issued to a Unit in the Command Phase so a "regrouped" unit cannot be issued another Command order in the Command phase.

 

thx,

Les

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

locarno said:

never mind.  just found the answer.  only 1 order can be issued to a Unit in the Command Phase so a "regrouped" unit cannot be issued another Command order in the Command phase.

 

thx,

Les

 

 

Exactly. The rules in this book were actually playtested extensively to make sure wording was clear enough as to not have RAW vs RAI arguments. It is surprising how much is covered in such a small rulebook actually.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...