Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
RobT

Clarifying the rules for reactions.

Recommended Posts

 Hi all,

After re-reading the rulebook and the FAQ, I'm still a little unclear about one aspect of units that can react. Does a unit that activated in the initiating player's unit phase need a remaining action in order to react in the 2nd player's unit phase? The way I'm reading the FAQ, so long as a unit didn't gain suppression or reaction markers, they can react, even if there are no actions left for that unit.

For an example: can a unit of Brit Paras airdrop in (using up 2 move actions to do so), then make a ranged attack reaction to a unit that moved into 12 in. of them during the 2nd players turn?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's what I thought. However, without further official FAQ clarification  I have a feeling the guys I play with will likely want to play the rule as requiring a unit to have an unused action from their unit phase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RobT said:

That's what I thought. However, without further official FAQ clarification  I have a feeling the guys I play with will likely want to play the rule as requiring a unit to have an unused action from their unit phase.

Why would there need to be an official FAQ on it?  It's a basic fundamental rule.  If your guys aren't playing that way, they're pretty much lopsiding the whole turn mechanic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

blkdymnd said:

RobT said:

 

That's what I thought. However, without further official FAQ clarification  I have a feeling the guys I play with will likely want to play the rule as requiring a unit to have an unused action from their unit phase.

 

 

Why would there need to be an official FAQ on it?  It's a basic fundamental rule.  If your guys aren't playing that way, they're pretty much lopsiding the whole turn mechanic.

And not playing the rules as written. As long as there isn't a Reaction Marker or Suppression Marker on the Unit, it may react per the Reaction rules. 

Page 34 of the Rulebook reads…

"Reactions

The opposing force isn't necessarily going to sit still and let a commander have it all his way! During the opposing player's Unit phase, units are allowed to react to enemy actions if they do not have a Suppression or Reaction marker. "

This is not an FAQ in my experience, and I've done several demos. This is the first I've read it asked online (not saying it hasn't before, but this is the first I've seen, and I'm active on a number of DW forums). The rule as written is pretty clear IMHO.  I hope the rule I quoted helps with your explaining it to your play group. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RobT said:

That's what I thought. However, without further official FAQ clarification  I have a feeling the guys I play with will likely want to play the rule as requiring a unit to have an unused action from their unit phase.

Hmmmm… Fortunately there has been official FAQ clarification… And it addressed this question specifically!

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/Dust-Warfare/Support/Dust_Warfare_FAQ_Low.pdf

Page 3 reads:

"Reactions

Can a unit react even after it has activated in the previous phase?

As long as a unit has no Suppression or Reaction markers, it may react as normal, even after it has activated. This means that a unit that activates in the Initiating Player's Unit phase may react during the Responding Player's Unit phase, effectively gaining an additional action during the turn (but only if the Responding Player provokes a reaction)."

For future reference, FFG has errata and other online material available here, under the Support tab for Dust Warfare:

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm=173&esem=4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...